Italian Rice Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
With a few adjustments this recipe is very close to my grandmother's. Baking time for me 1 hour 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time and brought it to Easter Dinner at my cousin's. I am not Italian so I had never heard of this dessert, nor did I know what it was suppose to look like and taste. One side our family are first generation Italian Americans. Their mother, who arrived via boat from Italy, use to make this dessert for them all the time. After tasting mine attempt, they said it felt like Mom was there with them and that it was just like they remembered. I want to make sure I make this again this year, but alarmingly I was unable to locate the recipe! With some careful searching however, I was able to locate it. TRY IT, YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Just like my grandmother from Naples used to make. She didn't cook using a recipe book or a measuring cup so we dint know how to make it. The last time she made it for us was probably about 1970, so I've waited a very long time. By the way, it took a lot longer to bake than the recipe indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Time needs to be revised. Or ingredient amounts. I cooked mine for 90 minutes and left in oven, turned off, for another 20. Very very moist after substantial cooling, at least it wasn't dry. But it wasn't firm either. Taste was fine, but, would not make again due to effort, amount if ingredients and lengthy bake time. Will look for another recipe next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Just finishing up. Looks beautiful . Definitely takes about 2 hours to cook, though . Will dust with powdered sugar when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I was looking for an "Easter Dessert", when I found this.My in-laws are some what old school Italian and I never heard them talk about this so I figured I would try it. It was a hit(the family talked about how their moms would make something similar). I absolutely LOVE this recipe, and will definitly be making it again. I did not have pineapple so I used fresh lemon juice & zest with fresh orange juice & zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I loved it and don't think it could be any easier. I always disliked the ones made with zest and pineapple is the perfect fill-in for me. I am making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very easy to make. Although I did have to cook a little longer then an hour. I added some grated orange skin to mixure to give it some more zing. This recipe is the best! It beats bakery rice pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Good rice pie,my family also makes this and many other Easter deserts.our familys sound alike.KEEP BAKING connie malagrino
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States