Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Beautiful presentation (I used a cookie scoop to make balls so they were uniform). I will make again, but I found them to be a little bland. Maybe some cayenne? I did add garlic, but will try to punch up the cheese by using something tangy-er.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
i tried this recipe added chopped green peper and mushrooms. it was delicious. The only thing i would chang about the recipe is the salt. From 1 teaspoon to half a teaspoon. Dip the rice balls in some sauce...IT WAS DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
My family just loved these, though they were a bit of a pain to form into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
What a great recipe. Very easy to make. I put a piece of motzarella cheese in the middle of the rice ball. I also used Italian bread crumbs for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
awesome recipe! i did what other ppl suggested, and added mozarella cheese and garlic powder to the rice. also, instead of using bread crumbs, i found that just smashing some ritz crackers and adding italian seasoning did the trick just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I made quite a few changes to this recipe & had great results. I added some grated cheddar cheese and some green onions for more flavor. Then I made the mix into patties instead of balls, I mixed the parmesan cheese in with the bread crumbs & coated the patties. After that I panfried them in olive oil instead of deep frying. They were really good served as a side dish with chicken. Even the kids enjoyed them. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I made these rice balls but had a hard time to keep them from splitting although they were good. I put them in refrig for about a 1/2 hour thinking that might help them from falling apart when they hit the oil. Oh well, try, try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Great recipe..wonderful appetizer. Served these on SuperBowl Sunday and everyone raved. Can be made ahead and reheated or frozen for another day. I used dried basil instead of parsley and chicken broth instead of water. (My home made broth made from the remains of a roasting chicken I bought at the warehouse store.) Throw all the leftovers in a pot with a gallon of water, a carrot, a piece of celery, a medium onion, bring to a boil and cook for a hour. Season, drain the broth into containters, discard the other remains. Cool and then freeze the broth for other uses such as this. I also insert a cube of mozzarella in each ball before rolling in italian seasoned bread crumbs. At this point the balls can be refrigerated and cooked the next day if you so desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonddee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I've made these several times - and they are frequently requested by all family and friends! They are simple to make, the only thing I changed, is I flavor my bread crumbs with fresh garlic, fresh parsley, and romano cheese. Also I omitted the parmesean cheese and use Romano instead. GREAT RECIPE, EASY TO MAKE - HIGHLY RECCOMEND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
these were good, but just too cheesy for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States