Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Growing up with my Italian Grandmother we never had much money and everything was "stretched" out. We ate these all the time but they weren't balls they were flat and fried in oil till crisp then turned. We called them Fletal and they were made from leftover rice/cheese soup. Using the leftover soup (with the broth drained) made them absolutely flavorful and delicious, looking forward to Saturday nights with them. The soup was a chicken broth with rice, then parmagon cheese was added and an egg. We also called it sick soup as when we had a cold in the winter it would warm you up from the inside out. Take the leftover soup, add an egg, lots more parm cheese. salt, pepper, garlic and then make into 4-5" patties and fry flipping once browned. These are good the same day and not as good left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
wanted to make them for Christmas Eve but figured Id try them out before hand. Being italian I remember my great grandmother making them...They were great!! I used Arborio Rice(stickier), and chicken broth instead of water.Seasoned with garlic,parsley,parmesan cheese,and added mozzerella cheese in center of rice before rolling into balls. I also used Panko-italian seasoned bread crumbs...May try to to mix up different things but such a great easy recipe as is..Great Grandma would of loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added a cup of mozzarella to the rice mixture and a bite size of meatball in the center, rolled in the breadcrumbs. I then just threw them in the deep fryer at 360 degrees for 3-5 minutes and they were delish. will make them again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe! I tried the aborio (sp) rice and found that a bit too sticky. I then tried carolina rice which worked out fine. If the mixture turns out a bit to loose, I just add more bread crumbs. When rolling the rice balls I stick a cube of mozzarella and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
very easy recipe but needs to have more of a cheese flavor and remeber to use plain breadcrumbs if you use italian seasoning. In addition, you can put the rice in the freezer to cool it quicker. Over all I am giving this a 4 since my hubby is still eating them as we speak lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
i would not make this again i didnt find them tasty or good i followed the recipe and it didnt seem to pan out sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Pactricia Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Made it exactly as stated. Turned out perfect, rice was easy to handle and form into a ball. Fried up perfectly, only problem I would have to say is that I ate too many of them. Tasted just as I remembered them as a little girl when my grandma use to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
First of all, I always microwave my rice, 1 cup rice and2 cups water, 18 min. With that said, I next left cool a bit and added eggs mixture and refrigerated about a half hour. They formed balls very easily. I deep fried some of them and they tasted to bland for me. So into the rest of the mixture, I added garlic powder and chopped dried onion, also mozzarella cheese. This is a good recipe. You can just add any of your own preferences to this. We really liked them,Marinara sauce is good with them and so many other dipping sauces would be good. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe, my husband loved it really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I loved this recipe! I recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States