Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
These are great! Yea it takes a little time, but it was definatley worth it! These are one of the best i've tasted! I added american cheese and I think it tasted really good! I keep making them because there pretty easy! I probably had it about 8x over the past month and I CANT get over the taste! REALLY REALLY DELICIOUS=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I think I need to fry these instead of baking them, (I am getting a deep fryer for Christmas)and a great dipping sauce will go a long way. will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
These are so good I could eat them every day!! This is a good basic recipe and you can add stuff to it like mozzerella, peas, ground beef whatever you like with no problem. It helps to use arborio rice because it's stickier and helps the balls stay together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Although this recipe is time consuming, it is relatively simple to make. I used long grain rice, 'cause that was all I had, and omitted the parsley, adding a tablespoon of italian seasoning instead. These turned out awesome! The balls were a little salty for my taste, however, I don't usually put salt in recipes. I will definately be making these again! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I have never made these before, nor have I had these before. It didn't wow me like I had hoped after reading all of the reviews. The rice stayed together well and presented well. I thought the flavor would be more pungent than it was. I think I will tinker with the seasoning amounts and try again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Very good recipe. Make sure you use a small grain rice as it will hold together much better. I also found that letting the mixture sit for about fifteen minutes also helped. Thanks Vince!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I added Italian seasoning to the egg and cheese mixture. I also added a cube of mozzarella to the middle. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Vince, I made these for a friend of mine that was longing for Rice Balls like her Mother use to make (Her Mother has passed on) I have never made them before and I found this recipe and made them. I am not being dramatic here but she ate just one and her eyes welled up and she said " These are just like the one's my Mother made me" Thank you for an excellent recipe and for making my friends day! Sincerely, Mama Rizzuto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
A fantastic "arancini" recipe as is, or doctored up (as is usually the case with me!). I added fresh garlic and minced red pepper for a surprise of color inside. AND, since my restaurant is a "no-fry" zone, I had to bake the rice balls – and they turned out perfectly! I gave them a nice coating of bread crumbs and then baked them on an oiled sheet till browned and crispy. Nice to know there's an alternative to frying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
great recipe - i also threw in some grated mozarella cheese..... it can also be used with left over rice, it's a bit more tricky but it is also good. thanks VInce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States