Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I was very pleased to come across the recipe while searching for recipes containing rice. I used arborio rice and followed the recipe exactly and it yielded perfect results! You can easily fry with vegetable oil or a mixture of olive and vegetable oil. I stuffed the inside with ground beef from sauce, and some defrosted frozen peas, with a cube of mozzerella or fontina. Next I will put ham and cheese inside. Just a perfect recipe that I thoroughly enjoyed making. Tried it two days in a row. I broke them open and served them with sauce over the top and grated cheese! The best ever!!! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
MY CHILDREN ARE VERY PICKY BUT THEY BOTH LOVED THIS RECIPE. MY HUSBAND IS A BIG MEAT EATER AND HE SAID THE NEXT TIME WE HAVE THESE, I DON'T HAVE TO FIX A MEAT DISH. WOW!!! I DID ADD MOZZ CHEESE AND ITALIAN BREADCRUMBS AS SUGGESTED. ONE THING I DID THAT I DID NOT NOTICE ANYONE ELSE DOING, I ADDED MILK TO THE MIXTURE TO HOLD THEM TOGETHER AND I DID NOT ROLL THE BALLS IN BREADCRUMBS, I ADDED THE BREADCRUMBS TO THE MIXTURE. THEY TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly. Very nice. Everyone liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zabbar, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Beautiful presentation (I used a cookie scoop to make balls so they were uniform). I will make again, but I found them to be a little bland. Maybe some cayenne? I did add garlic, but will try to punch up the cheese by using something tangy-er.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
i tried this recipe added chopped green peper and mushrooms. it was delicious. The only thing i would chang about the recipe is the salt. From 1 teaspoon to half a teaspoon. Dip the rice balls in some sauce...IT WAS DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
My family just loved these, though they were a bit of a pain to form into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
What a great recipe. Very easy to make. I put a piece of motzarella cheese in the middle of the rice ball. I also used Italian bread crumbs for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
awesome recipe! i did what other ppl suggested, and added mozarella cheese and garlic powder to the rice. also, instead of using bread crumbs, i found that just smashing some ritz crackers and adding italian seasoning did the trick just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I made quite a few changes to this recipe & had great results. I added some grated cheddar cheese and some green onions for more flavor. Then I made the mix into patties instead of balls, I mixed the parmesan cheese in with the bread crumbs & coated the patties. After that I panfried them in olive oil instead of deep frying. They were really good served as a side dish with chicken. Even the kids enjoyed them. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I made these rice balls but had a hard time to keep them from splitting although they were good. I put them in refrig for about a 1/2 hour thinking that might help them from falling apart when they hit the oil. Oh well, try, try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States