Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this recipe as directed, except that I added some shredded mozzarella to the rice mixture before forming the rice into balls. I liked it very much, but would make a few changes next time: 1. I would wait until the water was fully absorbed into the rice, because the balls flattened a bit when I tried to fry them; the mixture was too loose, even with the extra added cheese. 2. I would use plain vegetable oil in a deep fryer, or bake the rice balls on a well-oiled pan for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, turning them after 10 minutes. (The latter is what I wound up doing after my first batch burned in too-hot oil on the stovetop.) 3. I highly recommend the addition of extra mozzarella, either in cubes or shreds, and serving the rice balls with marinara sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
OH MY GOSH THESE ARE GOOD! My new favorite vegetarian entree! I used instant rice, with equal amounts of water and rice. I added extra Parm and some bread crumbs to rice mix for extra hold, and pepperjack cheese to the mix for some extra spice, as well as additional Italian herbs. I pan-fried with about 1 tablespoon of olive oil, which worked fine, and saved me from using a ton of expensive olive oil. They're delicious served with spaghetti sauce and a vegetable, because you get both the protein and starch in the balls themselves. TRY THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE!!! I make these rice balls all the time, but a little differently. I add about 1/4-1/2 cup finely chopped onion, about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1-8oz. can tomato sauce, along w/ the other ingredients.If the mixture is a little too wet I add some extra parmesan cheese or breadcrumbs. I form them into balls and stuff a cube of mozzarella cheese into the center,sealing it completely inside, then fry until golden. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe sound great. After two failed tries, I gave up. Im not sure what I am doing wrong, but my lack of experience is probably to blame. I will keep it in my box and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
The balls are a bit difficult to make with the rice mixture and you really have to use a lot of bread crumbs to get them right. But once you have it.. they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I recently tried this recipe and it was a big hit in our kitchen! I served it with cream of chicken soup as a gravy over them, along with turkey meatballs. My family loved them, and they asked when we were having thim again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good recipe, but I did think it needed a little something more...maybe more cheese or some ground beef like I saw in some other's reviews? Also, the rice mixture was too watery, so I had to add a little breadcrumbs so that the balls would stay together. Overall - will definately make again, with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
to those having trouble with them falling apart: japanese rice might work. onigiri, rice balls, are really popular in japan and the glutenous rice really holds together well. i'd guess you could eliminate the egg in the mixture if you used it. make sure your hands are wet, so the rice won't stick to them, or just scoop one ball's worth of rice onto saran wrap and shape without ever touching it! (note: i didn't make these yet, but thought the tip might help. i'll re-review after making them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
These were great. I used seasoned breadcrumbs and fried in olive oil. Mixed a small amount of thawed frozen baby peas to the rice and served with homemade marinara sauce. Thank you for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
YOU MUST USE SAUCE. I have been making these all of my life with my mother and grandmother. You need to use a homeade tomato sauce (or store bought...whatever) to hold it all together. Just add enough to get the consistency right and the rice easy to roll up. In my family we put ground sauage in the mix and add a cube of fresh mozzerella cheese to the center. we roll the mixture in cheese and bread crumbs and fry...SO WORTH THE EFFORT. They will become a family tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieMarie731

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States