Italian Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a very traditional croquette recipe from southern Italy. My mother use to make them just like this (minus the black pepper). You need to chill them for several hours before you are able to properly form them into croquette or ball shapes or they will fall apart. Once they are in the oil don't disturb them until they are golden on one side and then gently roll them over to avoid them falling apart. I have also sprayed them with olive oil and baked them in the oven to make a large batch of them without using so much oil and taking so much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Instead of cooking rice, this is my go to recipe to use leftover rice. I skip the cooking part and these are great for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was really good! After reading some reviews, this is something you can definitely modify. Didn't have parmesan cheese, I used shredded mild cheddar cheese and added the breadcrumbs with the egg mixture. I also used boil in the bag rice. Once I put the items all together, I let it sit in the fridge for one hour. I had a separate bowl with breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, garlic powder and flour. Formed the rice mixture into small patties and coated then with the breadcrumb mix. For a dipping sauce I used cocktail sauce which was really good. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were really good. I baked them instead of frying them and my kids thought they were great. Not enough seasoning for my taste - next time I will add something more to the rice, maybe even cook it in some chicken stock. I also think it's important to say that you do not cover the rice while cooking it. That is way, way too much water to put a lid on the pot, it needs to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly except I had to use red wine instead of white because that is all I had on hand. A little time consuming but well worth the effort. My family enjoyed these very much. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnchamp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooklover
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I love this recipe... I'd made this two times now and i will do it more and more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Fool proof, I did not expect these to turn out as well as they did. I used Uncle Bens rice because it was what I had on hand but luckily read some reviews and took advice to add a little more cheese to make them stick together better. I did add some more seasoning just for personal taste and found that having really wet hands helped a lot when shaping! Very happy with this recipe, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Growing up with my Italian Grandmother we never had much money and everything was "stretched" out. We ate these all the time but they weren't balls they were flat and fried in oil till crisp then turned. We called them Fletal and they were made from leftover rice/cheese soup. Using the leftover soup (with the broth drained) made them absolutely flavorful and delicious, looking forward to Saturday nights with them. The soup was a chicken broth with rice, then parmagon cheese was added and an egg. We also called it sick soup as when we had a cold in the winter it would warm you up from the inside out. Take the leftover soup, add an egg, lots more parm cheese. salt, pepper, garlic and then make into 4-5" patties and fry flipping once browned. These are good the same day and not as good left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
wanted to make them for Christmas Eve but figured Id try them out before hand. Being italian I remember my great grandmother making them...They were great!! I used Arborio Rice(stickier), and chicken broth instead of water.Seasoned with garlic,parsley,parmesan cheese,and added mozzerella cheese in center of rice before rolling into balls. I also used Panko-italian seasoned bread crumbs...May try to to mix up different things but such a great easy recipe as is..Great Grandma would of loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added a cup of mozzarella to the rice mixture and a bite size of meatball in the center, rolled in the breadcrumbs. I then just threw them in the deep fryer at 360 degrees for 3-5 minutes and they were delish. will make them again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States