Italian Ribollita (Vegetable and Bread Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This made a whole lotta soup! I followed steps 1&2 to a tee and found it a bit bland so I used 1 cup finely chopped stewed tomatoes and 3 tbsp tomato paste in total. I tore the bread into pieces and placed them at the bottom of my slow cooker. Poured the soup over that and left in fridge overnight. Let the soup sit on low for the entire next day. When I ladled the soup out, the bread was almost like a dumpling. This wasn't my most favourite soup but I loved using all of the veggies I had left after a week of not cooking too much, and had some frozen as well. I had a lot of leftovers so I added some cooked pieces of Italian sausage. YUM. I enjoyed trying this soup. Thanks TINATED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Nice soup.. made half a recipe and still have a huge potful! Nice flavor.. for me, needed a lot of S&P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very hearty italian peasant soup, but be advised this recipe makes 6 quarts of soup. The bread adds a nice flavor to a filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Wloch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good soup. I made it without adding the bread and ate it right after it was done cooking. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was an easy and healthy soup to make for my family. I followed the recipe as written with a few on hand-ingredient changes(frozen sliced zucchini/1 can fire-roasted tomatoes/No Swiss Chard). This is a soup that tastes even better the days after you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Fantastic, made a few changes...substituted parsnips for potatoes, turkey broth for water, added garlic, and added red thai chili sauce ( sauce). My family loved it...oh we are doing low carbs so we did without the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I had all of these veggies (except zucchini) in my fridge, thanks to the CSA program I'm in. I didn't know what to do with all of it, but this was a great solution. I worried that the lack of spices would make this bland, but I needn't have worried. This is a hearty soup, perfect for a chilly autumn day. At the table, I added a bit of parmesan and enjoy it even more. My daughter, she's 6 and is very picky, liked it - although she removed the soggy bread. My husband ate two bowls full and declared that it felt great to eat a hearty soup while enjoying so many veggies. Amen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
very tasty, but you have to like bread in your soup! Hearty vegies were nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I found this made alot of soup so have lots of friends over and it does get better with age. The only thing I didn't like and it may have been something I did wrong but the bread was not soaked through and was a bit overwhelming...not exactly like the one I remember from Tuscany but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States