Italian Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I WAS GOING TO SUBMIT THIS RECIPE IF NO ONE ELSE HAD! THIS STUFF IS FANTASTIC - LIKE THE ONE SERVED AT THE OLIVE GARDEN. I ADD APPROXIMATELY 3-4 TBS OF SUGAR BECAUSE I DID FIND IT TO BE TOO TART. AND BEST OF ALL, IT'S RELATIVELY LOW FAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This is excellent and really does have the same appeal as the Italian restaurants. Simple, tasty and quick.I also added 2 TBS. sugar. I did find by refrigerating it overnight it thickens up and the flavors really blend together. Yummy! Thanks for ending my search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This tasted nothing like olive garded dressing..i added extra sugar like others and it still didn't help with the taste :( I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
My husband took one bite and spent it back out. I didn't realize how strong this dressing is. I don't think any amount of added sugar could of helped this. I can't imagine any restaurant serving such a bad tasting dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Wonderful! My husband gave it 5 stars (and he's kind of picky about salad dressings)! Before adding sugar as other reviewers suggested, I tasted it, and it was perfect just as written; for us, the corn syrup was just enough sweetener. Definately will go into my permanant files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I really enjoyed this dressing. I served it in a tossed salad when company came over, and everyone raved about it. My grandfather even asked me for the recipe. I think that it would also be great on a pasta salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is an EXCELLENT recipe, not too tart at all as is. I used mayo with olive oil (by kraft), some white balsamic vinegar, and canola oil in place of veg. oil. It turned out super. Thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Everyone asked for the recipe. The only thing I did different was I didn't have white vinegar so I used red wine vinegar, I used garlic powder instead of actual garlic, I added 1 tsp of sugar, and I whisked it instead of using a blender. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I held back a star just because without a little sugar, this is really tart. After adding about 2 Tbsp., though, it was perfect. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was pretty....not good as written. I ended up adding 1/2 cup of sour cream to cut down on the tartness and make it something we would eat. This is not one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States