Italian Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
While I didn't find this dressing to be the same as the Italian restsurant version, it was delicious none the less! Made it just as written and felt no changes were necessary. It was a little tart, but we enjoyed that. I also thought it was a little on the thin side, but it ended up coating the salad beautifully. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I didn't have all herbs on hand so used what I did have...added some dried Italian herb spice mixture....halved the salt as per other suggestions. This is an excellent base for Italian dressing. Delicious. This makes the BEST Italian dressing I've ever tasted. Thx for the recipe......so easy, very tasty. I will never have to buy packaged mix again. Totally loved it. Was so happy to find it here. A rare find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This tasted nothing like olive garded dressing..i added extra sugar like others and it still didn't help with the taste :( I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was wonderful - exactly what we were looking for. Tossed it over my salad and shared it at a pot luck. It was the only salad that was eaten entirely... Did have a few ingredients so I substituted: honey for corn syrup, oregano for Italian spices and lime for lemon. but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Needs salt and pepper. A little goes a long way. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is great... Served over a bed of romaine lettuce, chopped tomato, red onion, and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKIANA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was pretty good. I used a simple syrup (1/2 sugar and 1/2 water boiled) instead of the corn syrup, and used red balsamic vinegar. Also, I didn't have any Romano cheese, so I used all Parmesan. The red vinegar gave it an unusual color, but it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very, Very, good! I did change the white wine vinegar to white balsalmic vinegar, and I used 1 Tablespoon Simple Sugar Syrup instead of the corn syrup. I didn't have any Romano cheese, so I just added a little extra Parmesan. For the seasoning, I used garlic powder, garlic salt, basil, oregano, and rosemary. Turned out exactly how I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Amazing. I made this exactly as directed and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was pretty....not good as written. I ended up adding 1/2 cup of sour cream to cut down on the tartness and make it something we would eat. This is not one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States