Italian Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Genious! What a great way to perk up regular 'ol store bought dressing! Who knew that just a couple of ingredients you have on hand could do so much for a bottle of dressing. I used Kraft light Italian dressing and while it's not Olive Garden, overall it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
A great simple idea to enhance the flavour of store-bought italian dressing. I should have thought of this myself long ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Not quite as good as Olive Garden, but on the right track. I used Newman's Olive Oil and Vinegar dressing and added 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp. fresh ground pepper and 1 Tbsp. parmesan cheese. This made it a little better. But it was adding an extra 1/4 cup white wine vinegar that give it that extra zip, much more like Olive Garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
It was great!! I used Ken's Light Olive Oil Vinagrette. I actually even poured a little more oil out of that. It is great to marinate chicken with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
A nice way to dress up bottled dressing but for us, it was a little too sweet. I used Newman's dressing. Next time, I'll cut back on the sugar and maybe add a little fresh grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this last night for something different. My husband couldn't get enough. I enjoyed it. It was very flavorful. I personally thought it was a tad too sweet and next time I will cut down on the sugar. I liked how easy it was to change up a dressing I already had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Good on salad. Our guests seemed liked it. It wasn't special but it was decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Awesome. Used Newman's Olive Oil and Vinegar and took the advice of others and added 1/2 c. white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Love this! I used store bought Italian dressing and added the garlic, basil, oregano, and sugar. Went awesomely with garden rotini, black olives, cucumbers, and cherry tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I think this is the best recipe yet! Sort of sweet, slightly sour, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Kester (Womanhead)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bristol, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States