Italian Restaurant-Style Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESSING!! I forgot to pick up the pectin, so that got exempted. I just blended the oil alone for about 45 seconds, and added the other ingredients (so that it wouldn't seperate). Don't let the corn syrup scare you, as I almost didn't try this because I thought that ingredient was odd. Thanks Barb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
oh my gosh, this dressing is FABULOUS!!!!!! My whole loved this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is a beautiful recipe! Even my husband loved it and he's a devoted Ranch Dressing fan! I chose to use olive oil and took the advise of another review and blended the oil alone for a while and then added the other ingredients. It was so tangy and tickled the tongue! I have lots of company coming this month and I'm making it for everyone of them. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I replaced the corn syrup by adding honey. It turned out great. Also added a pinch of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This recipe makes a great dressing. I blend the lemon juice and vinegar alone for about 20 seconds, and then let that rest for 10 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also like to use plain old distilled white vinegar rather than white wine vinegar because I think it tastes more like the dressing at that famous Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is really good and is pretty close to what I've been looking for. I've made it three times now and find that it separates to some extent whether or not the oil is processed first, though doing that does seem to make it a little less prone to. Either way, the separating is not a problem at all to me. I cut back the water to 2 tablespoons the last time to keep the flavor less diluted. And omitting the cheese makes it a very nice white wine vinaigrette, which I use to marinate warm potatoes for potato salad. This is so quick and easy to make - I'll always keep some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This dressing is comparable to some very good Italian dressings in local Italian restaurants. It is important to use the pectin for thickness & the corn syrup for taste. The dressing is not overly sweet, but the slight sweetness takes away the sharpness of the Italian seasonings. Very easy to mix in a jar if a blender for food processor isn't handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J La

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Export, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Hello people... The pectin is a thickening agent and CANNOT be left out. If it is, the dressing will be watery and you will NOT like the consistency. The taste is great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Almost exactly like Olive Garden's. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
It is indeed similar to the dressing at Olive Garden. Similar, but not exact. I also subbed olive oil for veggie oil. Really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States