Italian Restaurant-Style Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESSING!! I forgot to pick up the pectin, so that got exempted. I just blended the oil alone for about 45 seconds, and added the other ingredients (so that it wouldn't seperate). Don't let the corn syrup scare you, as I almost didn't try this because I thought that ingredient was odd. Thanks Barb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I have a suggestion for all those who's dressing came out watery. Try mixing all but the oil together, then slowly pour the oil in as the blender is running. I have made good season's Italian dressing in the blender this way for many years and have never had to shake the jar again, even after being refrigerated for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKSWIFE
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is a beautiful recipe! Even my husband loved it and he's a devoted Ranch Dressing fan! I chose to use olive oil and took the advise of another review and blended the oil alone for a while and then added the other ingredients. It was so tangy and tickled the tongue! I have lots of company coming this month and I'm making it for everyone of them. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I agree, this was tasteless and watery, not at all like the Olive Garden salad dressing. I found it to be a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This turned out awful! Mine, too, was like water. Not only did the mixture separate, but it was also a cloudy, milky color - nothing at all like a vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
oh my gosh, this dressing is FABULOUS!!!!!! My whole loved this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Great taste and plenty easy to make with items on hand. Used this for a Chicken Marinade, also on this site. Will try it as dressing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. It really does taste quite similar to O.G's - wish I had seen this recipe when I was craving their salad while pregnant (and lived 45 min away). I'm not loving the corn syrup, as we try to avoid GMO ingredients. Might experiment with agave nectar or honey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Almost exactly like Olive Garden's. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I was really happy with the look and taste of this dressing, but the consistency was way off! Mine was just like water. It all blended nicely together but just sunk to the bottom of the bowl. So, I marinated some cucumber slices in this rather than using it for a dressing. Next time I will take MC's advice and blend the dressing alone first and then add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States