Italian Restaurant-Style Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was pretty good. Although I omitted the lemon juice because I didn't have any lemons around, and it would probably be better with it. Like everyone else, I found that it separates in the fridge, but isn't that true of most pre-made dressings you buy at the market? Just a little shake fixes the problem. We don't have pectin or corn syrup readliy available here (as far as I know and I have looked) so I omitted the former and substituted honey 1:1 for the latter with no troubles. It was a bit more of a creamy consistency than I expected, but I think it's a good dressing. Used it on a pasta salad and it was perfect for it - just the right tanginess and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Takamatsu, Kagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I agree, this was tasteless and watery, not at all like the Olive Garden salad dressing. I found it to be a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is a beautiful recipe! Even my husband loved it and he's a devoted Ranch Dressing fan! I chose to use olive oil and took the advise of another review and blended the oil alone for a while and then added the other ingredients. It was so tangy and tickled the tongue! I have lots of company coming this month and I'm making it for everyone of them. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Great taste and plenty easy to make with items on hand. Used this for a Chicken Marinade, also on this site. Will try it as dressing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This turned out awful! Mine, too, was like water. Not only did the mixture separate, but it was also a cloudy, milky color - nothing at all like a vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I was really happy with the look and taste of this dressing, but the consistency was way off! Mine was just like water. It all blended nicely together but just sunk to the bottom of the bowl. So, I marinated some cucumber slices in this rather than using it for a dressing. Next time I will take MC's advice and blend the dressing alone first and then add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
oh my gosh, this dressing is FABULOUS!!!!!! My whole loved this dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DRESSING!! I forgot to pick up the pectin, so that got exempted. I just blended the oil alone for about 45 seconds, and added the other ingredients (so that it wouldn't seperate). Don't let the corn syrup scare you, as I almost didn't try this because I thought that ingredient was odd. Thanks Barb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States