Italian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I grew up eating this potato salad at Chicken Annie's and Chicken Mary's in Pittsburg, KS. Best stuff ever! There is way too much vinegar in this recipe, cut it in half and it is good. Add chopped onion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Just like my mom makes! added 2 Tblsp. sugar and left the red potato skins on. PERFECT with steak on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I'm sorry, but this recipe is just way too vinegary as others have said. Plus, that's just waaay too much dressing... My beautiful farmer's market organic white potatoes were drowning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
My mother made a version of this for every summer occasion. The family demanded it! She sliced the potatoes and layered them on a beautiful Italian platter, then added the vinegar and toppings. She added sliced scallions. Miss you, Mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I love this recipe, although I do add some sweet onion and red bell pepper and plenty of salt and pepper, and leave the skins on. Fresh herbs such as basil, oregano, or rosemary would be good too, but I wouldn't use dried for this recipe, they wouldn't do it justice! But it is also fine as -- sometimes less is more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Just great as is. But remember that for universal appeal recipes need to specify 3% vinegar. In some parts of the world 9% or stronger vinegar is the norm. That could be the reason some reviews wanted less vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My nono also made this but he added steamed green beans as well. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My nonni used to make this too! She would sometimes add boiled shredded chicken to make a meal. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Great recipe. I didn't measure-- just eyeballed the ingridients but I can tell you right off the bat that there was too much vinegar in the original recipe. I decreased that and also added 2 extra cloves of garlic. Also used red potatoes and kept skin on. Delicious. Great alternative for mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
White vinegar is the wrong choice--better for cleaning; and 15 minutes is not enough if you don't like somewhat raw potatoes. I had to salvage this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States