Italian Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This recipe is just yummy...I did make two changes, though. First of all I added garlic to the mix, because I love it and I only cooked the pork for the inital 10 minutes. I then removed it while I cooked down the cream and broth mixture. Once the sauce had cooked down, I put the pork back in to heat it up. This is a terrific recipe and I really appreciate having found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBYHAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This was spectacular - We made the 4 servings for the two of us and didn't stop until it was all gone. Based on the reviews and what I had on hand, I made several changes. First, I used 1/2 tsp each dried sage and parsley in place of fresh. I added 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 tsp oregano and 1/2 tsp basil, all of which I associate with good Italian recipes. I also added an extra tablespoon sun-dried tomatoes. I substituted fat-free half and half for heavy cream and used 1 cup along with 1 cup chicken broth. I also added 2 tablespoons flour mixed with water to thicken the sauce. The entire mixture was spooned over penne pasta at the table. This can be made from uncooked pork tenderloin as the recipe calls for or from left-over tenderloin grilled using a marinade. If using the left-over, add pork strips at the same time as called for, but remove prior to adding the broth and cream. Keep warm, then add back to the sauce after thickened. This is very easy to make and is a real gourmet treat. Thank you so much Anna and reviewers! Update: Fresh seasonings make ALL the difference. I use FRESH sage, parsley, basil and oregano. We make it so much we started an herb garden almost entirely for this recipe. They are in 12" pots and come in the house during the winter. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Even better when 1-2 T. sugar are added and double the broth & cream then serve over pasta...yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagle Bend, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I am not a huge fan of pork, but my husband loves it so I thought I'd give this a try. I have made this a few times now, and it has quickly become one of our favorite meals. I do make a few changes. I sautee mushrooms and minced garlic along with the onions, herbs, and prosciutto. The first time I made this the tomatoes got a little too done for me, so now I throw them in with the pork instead of with the above ingredients. To make the recipe a little healthier, I use fat free half and half in place of the cream, and it's still great. When I have spinach on hand, I throw that in as well. Typically I omit the salt since there is already enough salt from the pork/prosciutto/broth. We eat this over brown rice. This is a simple dish to make that looks much more difficult and is great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Absolutely fantastic! Simple to prepare and it looked beautiful. I served with mashed potatoes instead of pasta. Also, poured a Covey Run Cabernet Sauvignon ($8 a bottle). Terrific match of flavors. The only tweaking I did was to use dried sage because I couldn't find any fresh and added a bit of fresh minced garlic. You cannot have Italian cooking without garlic. I may have added a bit more heavy cream and chicken broth because I didn't measure. This was wonderful and I cannot wait to make it again. This is in my top five of all time great Allrecipes contributions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was a very tasty recipe for pork tenderloin. I did make changes as suggested by other reviewers. I pan-seared the pork first which I cut into 1 inch thick medallions rather than strips and then removed them. I didn't have fresh herbs so used 1/2 tsp. each of oregano, sage and basil and added garlic & mushrooms to the rest of the suggested ingredients. I deglazed the pan with about a 1/4 c. of wine and let some of it boil off. For extra sauce, I used 1 cup cream and 1 cup chicken broth mixed with 2 tbsp. flour to thicken it. Once thickened, I added the pork to re-heat and cook through. Served over mashed potatoes with steamed broccoli and my family just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Lots of prep work for a dish that was okay, but not stand out memorable. Even though I'm Italian and grew up with the stuff, I never did like prosciutto so I used bacon instead. Used shallots because that's what I had, and added some garlic. I sliced the tenderloin into medallions, dredged them with flour, then sauteed them. I removed them to a platter and set them aside while I sauteed the bacon, shallots and garlic. I deglazed the pan with white wine, then added the sun dried tomatoes, sage, parsley, broth and cream. I returned the pork tenderloin to the pan and cooked over medium heat until the meat was cooked through and the sauce had thickened. It certainly was a beautiful dish, but just didn't have the same wow factor in taste. I've made far tastier pork tenderloin dishes with fewer ingredients and half the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Very good. A few notes: I added garlic, and just before serving (over penne pasta) I added about 1/4 cup grated parm. The sauce did not thicken even after 20 minutes...but it was still very tasty. Next time I probubly wont use the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Made this for my husband and I and it is certainly a keeper. I did brown the tenderloin first, removed it and made the sauce separately. Added the tenderloin at the end and allowed it to heat thru. Pork remained juicy and tender amd it certainly is a perfect company dish. Served it with coucous cooked in orange juice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
wasn't great, wasn't bad.... smelled very good but tasted kida bland, will try again with tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States