Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I gave this five stars because it's good and it's easy to do and time to do it is next to nothing. It's a flexible recipe, too, as herbs can be added to the dough according to one's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrymodine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ignazia Vella
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
the egg is for the flour mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
i loved this recepie yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Great recipe and easy! Wonderful texture and flavor, easy to roll with rolling pin! When I spread by hand I end up with pits and holy pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I wasn't sure how to rate this. I didn't follow it very well. I started out with the intention of following it, but discovered I didn't have any eggs. Turns out, I'm glad I didn't. The egg makes the dough too cakeish. I wanted a lighter dough. I substituted about a quarter cup of hot tap water. The step I liked was stirring the oil and flour together. It seems to lighten the crust. I also didn't knead it but about two minutes. The more you knead it, the smaller and more uniform the holes in the crust made by the yeast are. I wanted more variation. It was easily elastic enough. It turned out just right as far as texture goes. Next time I'll add a bit more salt. I also don't understand people who want tons of flavor in the crust. Isn't that what you put the stuff on top for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
the bread lacks flavor, and the cheese burnt too quickly using the suggested cooking time. it came out decent. will tweak it for future uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Pretty good and easy dough. The instructions, however, are missing a step--there's an egg in this recipe but it's not clear when to add it. After trying this, I've now realized it goes into the dough--you need 1 1/4 cups of liquid, and the egg is the 1/4 cup. I made this in the bread machine--more out of laziness and wanting to multitask than anything else--and forgot to check it until it was done. That's when I realized it needed more liquid. No big; I just added in liquid (put in water bc I wasn't thinking) and let it go again. This made for a light, quick pizza dough that is perfect for a regular thick crust. If you like thin crust, you'd probably want to make two crusts out of it. Made it for D's Taco Pizza recipe and it worked well. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
First of all let me say that this recipe was really easy to fix, easy to follow instructions. We didn't like the texture of the finished product though and I have to agree with another person who wrote a review that the bread lacked flavor. We decided to give it another try and add herbs to the dough to see if that changes the flavor to where we like it. Since we just moved into this house and the oven is pretty new to us, we cut down the temp and left it in for almost the time that was suggested but the cheese was getting dark so we took it out earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

Pizza Dough III

See how to make easy homemade pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States