Italian Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was great! I made it twice, one with frozen peas and once with fresh peas, and you could really tell the difference, so I'd definitely recommend the fresh ones. I got my fresh peas at Trader Joe's in the raw chopped vegetable section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
"How to make frozen peas taste even better" --this is the way to do it! I really don't know how I didn't have garlic around, so I subbed a little good quality garlic powder...though I know it's not the same. I like frozen peas and usually have them in the freezer for a quick veg side, so next time I'll use the garlic--yum! I did not want to open a can of chicken stock for this so I used a quick splash of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
these turned out well. Was unsure of how 'done' the peas were suppose to be so I cooked until warm and starting to soften but not squishy. was a very cheap side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildcat44

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very, very good! It has onions, garlic, chicken stock.... What's not to love? True American Classic! Parmesan cheese tastes AWESOME added by the way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This side dish has always been on the table growing up. I have to say that I prefer when my mother cooks them with canned sweet peas, they have a little more flavor than the frozen peas. But either way, they are a staple in Italian Side Dishes. MMM MMM MMM. Please make sure to do exactly as the recipe says though, do not use a microwave to cut corners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Loved these! Was cooking them when my boyfriend came over - he looks over my shoulder and was like..."dinner's gonna be great tonight hun!" Truer words were never spoken... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Easy and really good. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe added a little something extra to peas fairly quickly and easily. However I was not impressed with the end result. It didn't taste all that different than frozen peas heated up. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Haha. I made this with 1 tablespoon of chicken bouillon, instead of chicken stock - and it still tasted good! If you opt this route, cut down to a 1/2 tbs of bouillon and don't add salt. I would also cut down on onions next time - too much onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
this receipe is very good but i really simplified it! i cooked the onions & garlic in oil in a microwave safe dish with lid till tender. heated 1/3 cup water dissolved chicken bouillon cube. added peas and broth to onion/garlic and cook approx 8 minutes on high or till your likness. then you can just use same dish for table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States