Italian Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Gets a '5' because Ann will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Delish! What a great way to dress up plain (i.e. bleh) peas!!! :) Both my hubs and I really enjoyed this simple side dish. It paired nicely with our stuffed sole and pierogies (which I sauteed in butter, minced onion and garlic - yum-o!). My only criticism is with the cooking timeframe. It does not take 5 minutes to saute your onion / garlic (it took me more like 2-3 minutes MAX) and it certainly does not take 10 minutes to cook your peas (yikes!). As many others have advised, in order to maintain their vibrant green color, simply heat your (defrosted OR completely thawed) peas for just a couple of minutes and then proceed as directed. If you need a quick veggie dish to serve with your next meal, look no further. This will NOT disappoint! Thanks for sharing your mom's great recipe, WORSHIPWARRIOR. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner to satisfy my daughter's request for peas "like Aunt Liz used to make." Well, I have no idea how Aunt Liz made them but this was a huge hit. I was really surprised at how flavorful this dish is (I wasn't expecting great things). It was so easy and a big payoff for so little effort. I'll be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Solid and simple recipe for peas, good but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great option for frozen peas, which are usually very bland. I used lots of chicken broth - about 1 1/2 cups - and just removed with a slotted spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I loved it! Not only did it come out perfectly , but my family lived it I added 1 tbsp extra chicken broth though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
So simple and delicious. I love a tasteful, uncomplicated and fast side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Delicious with added flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Easy recipe and tastes good too. I used frozen peas and they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These turned out pretty good, although I thought they lacked slightly in flavor. I will probably make my own variation of this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States