Italian Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I loved everything about this recipe, except for the cooking of the frozen peas. I recommend putting your frozen peas into a bowl of cold water to thaw for about 20 minutes, drain well, then add to the onion/garlic saute mixture for just a couple minutes to heat through. This way, you'll avoid the wrinkly and mushy look of overcooked frozen peas, and the peas will stay a vibrant green color. The flavor of this dish is great and is a nice change from the same old blah peas. Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Let me preface this by saying I am not a big fan of cooked peas....raw & hidden in a salad w/lots of other yummy stuff (and dressing!), is good....cooked, bleh! These peas, however, me likey! These were excellent, as well as quick/easy to prepare, made w/ingredients readily on hand at our house, and an added bonus...good for me!! I cooked according to recipe, except I didn't measure oil (dash), onion (1/2 of one...looked like enough and it was, thought the whole onion would not have been too much either), or garlic (lots and lots of pre-minced). I also panicked a little and added some extra broth because it didn't "seem" like enough (it would have been...that's what the recipe is for, moron). One caveat, my peas ended a little on the mushy side because of my own timing....I tried to let them sit (covered still) while the rest of the meal caught up....so I recommend serving immediately. Thanks for a great veggie side, easy enough for weeknights, but respectable enough for guests, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I love this reciPEA. I like to cook my peas in the microwave so they can keep their pop. When I say Cook I mean defrost. I poured the chicken stock over my peas and defrosted them for a few minutes. After I sauteed the onion and garlic I poured it over the peas. I let it marinate for a few minutes before serving. My three year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These peas were very tasty. I didn't want to open a can of chicken broth to use only one tablespoon, so I used water and sprinkled in a few chicken boullion granuals. I took the advise of other reviewers and topped the peas with freshly grated Parm. Very good recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Very tasty and elegant way to serve peas. I had only canned peas, so used 2 cans. It would have been better with frozen, as the recipe states. I used a regular yellow onion, and 1/2 of it would have been plenty. A whole Vidalia or other nicely flavored onion would be best, as the is the predominant taste of this dish. Instead of the chicken broth, I used a whole bouillon cube dissolved in 1/3 cup water and used the whole thing. Extra salt was not needed. Very nice, easy, and versatile side dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Wow I was surprised at how good this simple recipe turned out. My family has never been a fan of peas so I was looking for a way to make them taste a little different...this recipe was it. I did have frozen corn leftover from another recipe so I put it in the last 2 minutes to heat. Hubby ate 2 helpings (so did I)! Next time I'd like to try it with a little crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Sometimes I sprinkle parm cheese on top, and sometimes I stir in a little heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good for what it is - simple peas with onions and garlic. The problem here is the cooking time - 10 minutes? No; just long enough to heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The best peas I've ever had. I followed the recommendation of using chicken bouillon dissolved in water in lieu of the broth. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Love the way the garlic, onion mingle together, and the chicken stock ties the whole side dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States