Italian Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Like some others also stated, I HATE peas, can't even stand the smell. My husband loves them. We've been married 12 years and I haven't made them once. So I set out to find a way I can make them that I might enjoy at least a little, too. I admit I was a little skeptical, "such a simple recipe couldn't yield dramatic results"-- but I was wrong. I not only found these edible, but I dare say I liked them! Not loved - you can still taste the pea flavor (of course!), but definitely something I could eat again. My husband, on the other hand, loved them. So I gave five stars - if you like peas, you'll love these, and if not, they can still be a game-changer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very tasty, didnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of 3 hungry boys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This were simple yet had that extra little something. I cut my onions up in a chopper just so there wouldn't be huge chucks of onion but the onion and garlic really gave an extra level to the peas. Will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Good. Nice change from just peas with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Good recipe, but I didn't think the taste warranted the extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I do not like peas. But this recipe, using frozen peas, is making me eat a lot of peas, and I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Gets a '5' because Ann will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Delish! What a great way to dress up plain (i.e. bleh) peas!!! :) Both my hubs and I really enjoyed this simple side dish. It paired nicely with our stuffed sole and pierogies (which I sauteed in butter, minced onion and garlic - yum-o!). My only criticism is with the cooking timeframe. It does not take 5 minutes to saute your onion / garlic (it took me more like 2-3 minutes MAX) and it certainly does not take 10 minutes to cook your peas (yikes!). As many others have advised, in order to maintain their vibrant green color, simply heat your (defrosted OR completely thawed) peas for just a couple of minutes and then proceed as directed. If you need a quick veggie dish to serve with your next meal, look no further. This will NOT disappoint! Thanks for sharing your mom's great recipe, WORSHIPWARRIOR. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner to satisfy my daughter's request for peas "like Aunt Liz used to make." Well, I have no idea how Aunt Liz made them but this was a huge hit. I was really surprised at how flavorful this dish is (I wasn't expecting great things). It was so easy and a big payoff for so little effort. I'll be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Solid and simple recipe for peas, good but nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States