Italian Panzanella Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Really, really good. This is a wonderful summer salad when basil is fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was excellent! I used Parmesan Herb Bread from this site, regular red tomatoes and omitted the pine nuts and rosemary (had none). I liked the idea of using pesto and balsamic vinegar as the dressing,but I had none prepared so I basically just made a vinaigrette with the same ingredients (basil, garlic, oil, etc - no pine nuts, though). I mixed the vegetable ingredients, then rubbed the toasted bread with garlic before chopping and adding to the salad just before serving, as I like it slightly warm but not hard like croutons. The goat cheese was and excellent addition, and the chickpeas made this a very satisfying salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is a fantastic salad! I took it to a dinner party and it received rave reviews--one of my friends even took a picture of it, and several more asked for the recipe--a winner for sure, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I took this to a dinner party last night and it was the first thing to go. I made the croutons out of oat/wheat bread. So Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Simple and delicious. I made it for a work meeting and it was a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This salad was wonderful. My family just loved it. The kalamata olives and the tangy dressing was very tasty. Thanks for such a great, quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Oh, my gosh! This was my favorite salad so far! i couldn't find any tear-drop tomatoes so I had no tomatoes in it and I used feta cheese instead of the goat but stuck with the rest of the recipe. It was absolutely phenominal! I loved it. My husband and sister really enjoyed it as well. It had so much flavor. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be making this again as well as putting it in my "potluck" recipes so others can enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I won 1st Place for this salad that I re-named Tuscan Bread Salad! I had to substiute a few items because of availability- I live in Mexico. I used a homemade sourdough bread- no artisan breads here and also grape tomatoes, cannellini beans ,feta, orange and yellow peppers( left out the red & green peppers)and also added some summer sausage cut in quarters. I also sprinkled the feta cheese on top to give it a better visual presentation. The judges must have loved it- 25% judging for presentation and 75% for taste! I also added some rosemary and basil springs along side the platter I put it on. Thanks again for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
1. Made this again for the military wives. Again, it was the hit of the party. I let the tomato mixture sit in the fridge overnight and it turned out fine. 2.Everyone at the party LOVED this salad. I used a garlic and cheese bread instead of the white bread. Make this, you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Simply marvelous! Quality of your bread is imperative! Texture and flavor is perfectly balanced and scrumptious. Instead of pesto, I used fresh basil and evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States