Italian Panzanella Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Simple and delicious. I made it for a work meeting and it was a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This salad was wonderful. My family just loved it. The kalamata olives and the tangy dressing was very tasty. Thanks for such a great, quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Oh, my gosh! This was my favorite salad so far! i couldn't find any tear-drop tomatoes so I had no tomatoes in it and I used feta cheese instead of the goat but stuck with the rest of the recipe. It was absolutely phenominal! I loved it. My husband and sister really enjoyed it as well. It had so much flavor. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be making this again as well as putting it in my "potluck" recipes so others can enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I won 1st Place for this salad that I re-named Tuscan Bread Salad! I had to substiute a few items because of availability- I live in Mexico. I used a homemade sourdough bread- no artisan breads here and also grape tomatoes, cannellini beans ,feta, orange and yellow peppers( left out the red & green peppers)and also added some summer sausage cut in quarters. I also sprinkled the feta cheese on top to give it a better visual presentation. The judges must have loved it- 25% judging for presentation and 75% for taste! I also added some rosemary and basil springs along side the platter I put it on. Thanks again for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
1. Made this again for the military wives. Again, it was the hit of the party. I let the tomato mixture sit in the fridge overnight and it turned out fine. 2.Everyone at the party LOVED this salad. I used a garlic and cheese bread instead of the white bread. Make this, you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Really, really good. This is a wonderful summer salad when basil is fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is a fantastic salad! I took it to a dinner party and it received rave reviews--one of my friends even took a picture of it, and several more asked for the recipe--a winner for sure, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Simply marvelous! Quality of your bread is imperative! Texture and flavor is perfectly balanced and scrumptious. Instead of pesto, I used fresh basil and evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This recipe did not work out at all for me. The bread cubes turned into bread mush within twenty minutes of being mixed in. Were they just supposed to be toasted, or were they supposed to be more like croutons? I think that it might have been better had I prepared them like regular croutons, setting the oven to 250 and leaving them in for much longer, to really dry them out. It also didn't help that I didn't follow the directions for the lettuce: I just shredded it and mixed it in. The next day, after I fished out all the bread mush and the soggy, wilted lettuce, I tasted what was left and recognized that this salad might have some potential, but I certainly won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I'm sorry I must be the only one, but to me this salad was just ok, not outstanding or extraordinary like everyone else said. I followed the recipe exactly as written, just omitted the kalamata olives because I don't like it. I'm sorry again, I hate to be the only one to leave a different review, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States