Italian Panzanella Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
i would use more pesto and less balsamic vinegar.it does need time to meld. i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
My boyfriend was born in Naples and absolutely loved this salad. I had to make a few substitutions based on what I had on had (i.e., regular cherry tomatoes, torn up naan bread crisped in the oven, frozen peppers, and onion flakes). My boyfriend loved this salad so much, I can't wait to make it again, but using fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Awesome! We used whole wheat/grain bread (since that what we have) and it added to the heartiness of the salad. The pesto vinaigrette was perfect and the olives/chickpeas definitely made this taste very Mediterranean. We forgot the goat cheese and used parm, but will definitely get goat/feta next time to add another tangy element. Flavors galore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I'm giving this one star just because the ingredients were interesting but my husband and I didn't like this at all - WAY TOO MUCH PESTO - and I love pesto...and today it's just a bowl of mushy lettuce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
A fabulous salad that kept and fed me for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was excellent! I used Parmesan Herb Bread from this site, regular red tomatoes and omitted the pine nuts and rosemary (had none). I liked the idea of using pesto and balsamic vinegar as the dressing,but I had none prepared so I basically just made a vinaigrette with the same ingredients (basil, garlic, oil, etc - no pine nuts, though). I mixed the vegetable ingredients, then rubbed the toasted bread with garlic before chopping and adding to the salad just before serving, as I like it slightly warm but not hard like croutons. The goat cheese was and excellent addition, and the chickpeas made this a very satisfying salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I took this to a dinner party last night and it was the first thing to go. I made the croutons out of oat/wheat bread. So Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I'm sorry I must be the only one, but to me this salad was just ok, not outstanding or extraordinary like everyone else said. I followed the recipe exactly as written, just omitted the kalamata olives because I don't like it. I'm sorry again, I hate to be the only one to leave a different review, but I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This recipe did not work out at all for me. The bread cubes turned into bread mush within twenty minutes of being mixed in. Were they just supposed to be toasted, or were they supposed to be more like croutons? I think that it might have been better had I prepared them like regular croutons, setting the oven to 250 and leaving them in for much longer, to really dry them out. It also didn't help that I didn't follow the directions for the lettuce: I just shredded it and mixed it in. The next day, after I fished out all the bread mush and the soggy, wilted lettuce, I tasted what was left and recognized that this salad might have some potential, but I certainly won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States