Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Hubby hates tomatoes (I think he's crazy) but he had something similar at a restaurant when traveling for work and actually liked them. He said this recipe was even better than what he had. Thanks for broadening his taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Very good and very fast. I used parmesan petals instead of grated and I wonder if the Kraft stuff would have been better. The petals melted beautifully and started to brown at about 6 minutes under my toaster oven broiler, but the cheese slid off my ripe and therefore wet tomatoes. Maybe romas would have held the cheese on better? Thanks for posting; I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Right after the first bite I was powerless to stop myself from going "Mmmmmm." To my delight, my roommate did exactly the same thing. We declare this edible tomato plate a winner. I didn't follow the recipe exactly. As there are only two of us, I only used two tomatoes and two cloves of garlic, no msg. Two cloves of garlic gave a very strong flavor, but it compliments the oregano extremely well. Most of the other seasonings I just sprinkled to what I thought was reasonable about as much as the recipe says. As for the parm, I skipped the measuring and just covered each tomato, but not to heaping Looked pretty much like the picture in the end. DELICIOUS! Make sure your tomatoes are big and fresh. You want them to still be juicy after the broil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
bf said this was really good.. i think it was pretty good but something was missing.. i would've liked to have put a bit of mozzarella & probably would have liked it a lot more.. shoulda used all the salt.. i always do half b/c im sensitive to it.. i'd cut back on the pepper which is weird b/c we love pepper.. i think it would've gone good on some kind of bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe! I only gave 4 stars because of the MSG, there is NO reason for it. The kids and I loved it made a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was good, but I overcooked it so the tomatoes were too mushy and think it would be better with a semisoft cheese on top. It definitely doesn't work with a "melty" cheese on top. Too hard to cut through. Will make again but maybe with a goat cheese? Great use for all those fall tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Simple & delish. I had a wonderful home grown tomato. I was only doing one tomato, but I'm a garlic nut so I used 2 cloves. I don't have any MSG and had to use Kraft Parm, but still when you start with a wonderful tomato, how can you go wrong? Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These were delicious! I left out the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delicious....used Roma tomatoes...and garlic powder instead of fresh .....did not add the MSG....the tomatoes get very sweet when cooked....served with a balsamic grilled chicken and slaw. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I didnt use msg and they turned out great! I have to say I didnt actually measure any ingredients, rather, just put on how much I thought I would like. Very nice, quick side dish or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States