Italian Nachos Restaurant-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I have a similar recipe I use for Old Chicago's style Italian nachos. Here are my alterations: I make my own chips by cutting up pita bread into nacho sized triangles and lightly toasting them. Regular tortilla chips are a bit too salty with the salt from the meats. I also serve the marinara sauce on the side for dipping, and seed and slice the pepperoncinis before adding them. If you love cheese (and who doesn't?) you can grate some parmesan over it too once it's done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu_cupcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
You should read more carefully before reprimandng the person who submitted the recipe. They do say the sauce is for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My husband and kids absolutely loved this new way of eating nachos. I used my own homemade pizza sauce. They swarmed over the nachos and inhaled--I didn't even get to try one! I guess I'm gonna have to make this again soon if I'm going to get to try it myself. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
My family absolutely loved this. I didn't have the pepperoni or the banana peppers and I used Cheddar cheese instead of mozerella. I thought it was okay, but like I said the hubby and kids thought it was the best thing ever. My hubby said this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These are delicious, by far my favorite go-to appetizer when we are thinking of eating out at night. I have made these both with regular tortilla chips and with fried wonton wrappers (just like the restuarant) and I think the wonton wrappers add another dimension to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannerBananer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
The sauce is supposed to be served as dipping sauce. I'm not sure how it ended up as a topping. Just to let you all know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reneeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Not bad. While I'm a sucker for authentic nachos, I found these to be a fun change of pace. Actually, If it weren't for these being so dry, I'd award a perfect rating. I definitely woulddn't attempt these again without making TWO very important adjustments. First, I'd fry up my sausage and then add just enough pizza (or spaghetti) sauce to moisten. This time, I drizzled my nachos with sauce as Christina did (over the meat layer). Had I served it on the side, my nachos would have been SUPER dry (even more so than they already were). I'd also change the cooking method. Instead of broiling, I think baking at 350 for 10-15 minutes would yield a better outcome. I nearly burt my nachos and I rarely ever burn anything! Other than slightly modifying how I prepared these, I only made one additional change. I sprinkled my nachos with a couple of sliced green onions because they just seemed to be missing that little something... I think sliced olives would be a nice touch too, but since my hubs and I don't care for them, I didn't bother. All in all, these were good, but my allegiance still goes to Laura B. for her restaurant style chicken nachos, also on this site. I'm glad to have given your recipe a try, but I'm not a convert just yet. Thanks anyways, reneeg! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
WONDERFUL RECIPE! The whole family loved this! It's easy, quick and VERY tasty. THANKS RENEEG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julesinfl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
FABULOUS NACHO'S!!!! I made these for a Mother's Day Italian Dinner for my family. The adults and kid's all loved these. These for super easy to make! And, they were delcious. Thansk for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Made it on a atortilla instead of chips and used pepperoncini and veggie sausage. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States