Italian Nachos Restaurant-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Made these for *Recipe Group*~ If you like Nachos you'll like these. I used roasted pork instead of the Italian Sausage. Added green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made these nachos for Recipe Group. We loved them! I just eyeballed the ingredients and in hindsight could have added more. I used hot Italian turkey sausage and added green onions to the toppings. Instead of broiling, I baked these at 350 degrees for about 5 minutes, until the cheese was just melted. This was a nice change and I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Not bad. While I'm a sucker for authentic nachos, I found these to be a fun change of pace. Actually, If it weren't for these being so dry, I'd award a perfect rating. I definitely woulddn't attempt these again without making TWO very important adjustments. First, I'd fry up my sausage and then add just enough pizza (or spaghetti) sauce to moisten. This time, I drizzled my nachos with sauce as Christina did (over the meat layer). Had I served it on the side, my nachos would have been SUPER dry (even more so than they already were). I'd also change the cooking method. Instead of broiling, I think baking at 350 for 10-15 minutes would yield a better outcome. I nearly burt my nachos and I rarely ever burn anything! Other than slightly modifying how I prepared these, I only made one additional change. I sprinkled my nachos with a couple of sliced green onions because they just seemed to be missing that little something... I think sliced olives would be a nice touch too, but since my hubs and I don't care for them, I didn't bother. All in all, these were good, but my allegiance still goes to Laura B. for her restaurant style chicken nachos, also on this site. I'm glad to have given your recipe a try, but I'm not a convert just yet. Thanks anyways, reneeg! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I wasn't too keen on these, but DH really liked them. My issues were not ones that are likely to bother other people and have to do with my own taste profile preferences. My DH is a much more accurate judge for these, and he liked them. I did run into the same problem with these that I do with Mexican nachos which is that once they are no longer piping hot, the cheese makes everything stick together. That's just the nature of cheese and I can't fault the recipe for it, but it's something to keep in mind if you're serving to a crowd who isn't already sitting around waiting for them! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group and it was AWESOME!!!!! I don't make major dinners on Saturdays b/c, I like to have a day off from cooking sometimes, lol, so I decided to make this tonight for something fun and different. I layered mine like this: chips, sausage, pepperoni (that I cut into 4th's), pizza sauce (that I drizzled around randomly), cheese, sliced black olives, chopped green onions and chopped hot banana peppers. I also made a side of ranch for dipping. These were sooooo good! My only tiny complaint is that they are a little hard to eat due to the melty, stringy mozzarella, but totally not a big issue, and one that hubby, the little guy and I are willing to put up with in order to enjoy these again and again...a winner, and new favorite for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These are delicious, by far my favorite go-to appetizer when we are thinking of eating out at night. I have made these both with regular tortilla chips and with fried wonton wrappers (just like the restuarant) and I think the wonton wrappers add another dimension to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannerBananer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
WONDERFUL RECIPE! The whole family loved this! It's easy, quick and VERY tasty. THANKS RENEEG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julesinfl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Made it on a atortilla instead of chips and used pepperoncini and veggie sausage. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
You should read more carefully before reprimandng the person who submitted the recipe. They do say the sauce is for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
FABULOUS NACHO'S!!!! I made these for a Mother's Day Italian Dinner for my family. The adults and kid's all loved these. These for super easy to make! And, they were delcious. Thansk for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States