Italian Meatloaf in Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I've been making these for years and we love them! If you use ground round there shouldn't be an accumulation of grease in the zucchini boat. If all I have is ground chuck (with 15% fat) then you are better off browning the meat first and mixing then mixing it with some of the sauce. Terrific way to use zucchini when your garden is producing more than you can handle! Toss a salad & serve with crusty bread or garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Absolutely, delicious. I love the sweetness that the carrots add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I MADE THIS YEARS AGO AND AT LEAST ONCE A YEAR,AND LOVE IT.EVERYONE AT HOME LIKES IT TO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Houser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried it with spicy Italian turkey sausage instead of the ground beef and it was wonderful. I used the small zucchini that didn't need to have the seeds removed. Served for company and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Loved it! Used fresh basil from our garden and made fresh sauce "Easy shaghetti sauce" from the site. My husband said it was as good as any Italian restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
great recipe! i made this with ground turkey. i even had some meat left for a few meatballs that i added to the sauce that is served on the side. depending on the size of the zucchini, you may need to cook it longer. you don't need to be a "professional" to figure out how to adjust the ingredients to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a very delicious Italian meatloaf, and the zucchini really give it an extra zing. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was a great recipe and didn't take long at all. Very easy prep work. I wasn't happy with the spaghetti sauce that I used but the rest was great. Just becareful on the type of sauce. I used one with the cheese in it. Thank you for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
SO YUMMY! Instead of making the meatloaf mixture...I used premade meatballs. and rather than waste the goodies that I scraped out of the zucchini, I added it to the spaghetti sauce. My husband and two year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I thought this was delicious. The whole family ate it without complaining about the "vegetable" under the meatfloaf. I only used one pound of lean ground beef and there was plenty of stuffing. I just heaped it up tall and we were good to go! Yummy and easy and a great way to use your zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States