Italian Meatloaf in Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These green, meaty boats looked so awesome going into the oven and I had really high hopes for the outcome, but I was a little disappointed. I will definitely make them again, but not without a couple changes. The "1 large zucchini" written for the original recipe, must've been from a mutant garden strain b/c I scaled the meat back to 1 lb. and ended up cramming 3 1/2 medium zucchinis with the meatloaf mixture, as well as making a couple random meatballs on the side. The end result was unfortunately on the bland side, (splash splash of Sriracha to the rescue!) so next time around, the meat and sauteed veggies need to be more heavily seasoned, possibly w/ more garlic, red pepper flakes, thyme, oregano, Italian Seasoning, etc... Also, I think I would rather prepare these like a stuffed bell pepper where I'd brown the meat prior to stuffing, then just pop the boats in the oven to melt the cheese, only b/c I wasn't too thrilled with the accumulation of grease in the zucchinis. Oh yeah, I also dropped it to 1 egg and 1/2 c. Italian bread crumbs, since I had a little less meat, and the bake time was dead-on. Overall a 3.5 star recipe that (CHEER! My 3-year old gobbled up!) might just need some tweaking b4 I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I've been making these for years and we love them! If you use ground round there shouldn't be an accumulation of grease in the zucchini boat. If all I have is ground chuck (with 15% fat) then you are better off browning the meat first and mixing then mixing it with some of the sauce. Terrific way to use zucchini when your garden is producing more than you can handle! Toss a salad & serve with crusty bread or garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was very good, what I do is cut off the ends of the zucchini and boil in water for approx 10 to 15 mins ...take out let it cool then slice inhalf and take out the pulp and I add it to the hamburger mixture, adds alot of flavor....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was a great recipe and didn't take long at all. Very easy prep work. I wasn't happy with the spaghetti sauce that I used but the rest was great. Just becareful on the type of sauce. I used one with the cheese in it. Thank you for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The fat and sodium in this recipe are through the roof! Not to mention the cholesterol. While this recipe is very very tasty, I would not recommend eating often. Omit the bottled sauce and use your own or a low sodium brand. Omit the garlic salt completely and try garlic pepper, you might be surprised. The Italian seasoned bread crumbs have a lot of salt and Parmesan plus the recipe calls for extra Parmesan and mozzarella. Make you your own bread crumbs with herbs, no salt and just use the Parmesan as indicated in the recipe. Then try low fat Mozzarella. You can try ground turkey or chicken if you like but I do not think it will make much difference. I do cheat from low fat and low sodium diets but have found after very little time that a lot of recipes are very salty and although I love the velvety texture of some fat, greasy and oily becomes very cloying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nackawic, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried it with spicy Italian turkey sausage instead of the ground beef and it was wonderful. I used the small zucchini that didn't need to have the seeds removed. Served for company and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I MADE THIS YEARS AGO AND AT LEAST ONCE A YEAR,AND LOVE IT.EVERYONE AT HOME LIKES IT TO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Houser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
LOVED this. I made it as is, and it was wonderful. This recipe makes a lot, but that's ok because it was so delicious. Easy and satisfying, the best way to have meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
great recipe! i made this with ground turkey. i even had some meat left for a few meatballs that i added to the sauce that is served on the side. depending on the size of the zucchini, you may need to cook it longer. you don't need to be a "professional" to figure out how to adjust the ingredients to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is a very delicious Italian meatloaf, and the zucchini really give it an extra zing. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States