Italian Meatloaf in Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
i wouldhave to agree that the meatloaf needs more flavor. i did not cook the onion and garlic i just added everything to the meat which i used ground turkey another viewer used hot turkey sauage and that is what i would do if i ever make again. my husband said that the meatloaf would make great meatball in sauce. did not like the zucchini at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
tonight i'm making this for the third time. love finding huge zucchini at the farmers market! made the recipe as is, and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used a zucchini about 12 inches long and over 3 inches in diameter and still felt they were overstuffed. It took way over recommended time to cook the meat through and still the zucchini seemed undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great idea, but found that the zuchinni didn't get cooked all the way in the 60 minutes I gave it. I used ground turkey to cut down fat content and it was good that way. insead of parmesan,I used shredded "mexi" cheese. will make it again, but will probably "tent"it with foil for the first 20-30 minutes.(might keep the burned sauce on the bottom of the pan to a minimum. I served a little spaghetti on the side as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sacramentolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
great recipe! i made this with ground turkey. i even had some meat left for a few meatballs that i added to the sauce that is served on the side. depending on the size of the zucchini, you may need to cook it longer. you don't need to be a "professional" to figure out how to adjust the ingredients to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I thought this was delicious. The whole family ate it without complaining about the "vegetable" under the meatfloaf. I only used one pound of lean ground beef and there was plenty of stuffing. I just heaped it up tall and we were good to go! Yummy and easy and a great way to use your zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
SO YUMMY! Instead of making the meatloaf mixture...I used premade meatballs. and rather than waste the goodies that I scraped out of the zucchini, I added it to the spaghetti sauce. My husband and two year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Loved it! Used fresh basil from our garden and made fresh sauce "Easy shaghetti sauce" from the site. My husband said it was as good as any Italian restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The fat and sodium in this recipe are through the roof! Not to mention the cholesterol. While this recipe is very very tasty, I would not recommend eating often. Omit the bottled sauce and use your own or a low sodium brand. Omit the garlic salt completely and try garlic pepper, you might be surprised. The Italian seasoned bread crumbs have a lot of salt and Parmesan plus the recipe calls for extra Parmesan and mozzarella. Make you your own bread crumbs with herbs, no salt and just use the Parmesan as indicated in the recipe. Then try low fat Mozzarella. You can try ground turkey or chicken if you like but I do not think it will make much difference. I do cheat from low fat and low sodium diets but have found after very little time that a lot of recipes are very salty and although I love the velvety texture of some fat, greasy and oily becomes very cloying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nackawic, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried it with spicy Italian turkey sausage instead of the ground beef and it was wonderful. I used the small zucchini that didn't need to have the seeds removed. Served for company and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States