Italian Meatloaf in Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was a really tasty dish. Super easy to make which is what I like. I only had 4 small zucchini's and way to much meat. So I ended up making meatballs with the excess meat for spaghetti and meatballs the following night! I got 2 meals out of 1! Not to shabby. Plus my husband brought some to work for lunch the next day and said they reheat pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astle08
Home Town: Loomis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Awesome! I made it with turkey and I could only find the smaller zucchini so I lined he bottom of the dish with them and packed the meat mixture over it. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I had to comment as my husband came home and snubbed this dish which was in the oven...told me he doesn't like zucchini...went off in a huff...dinner was ready and he said okay I'll try a little...much to his surprize he loved it and ate two boats!! Very good, quick and easy. I used the leftover meatballs for the stuffing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somers, New York, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I did make just one change. I used 3 medium zucchini, cut in half, as the meat mixture was quite a large amount. I piled them pretty high and used plain old Ragu sauce and they came out spectacular. Served on top of a bed of brown rice. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This recipe was awesome!! To make it a little healthier, I used ground turkey breast, and for the bread crumbs I used a fiber-enriched bread. It was amazing!! I had some meat leftover, so I made meatballs to use at a later time. Incredible! This has become one of my husband's favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
THANK YOU FOR THIS IDEA !! MY WIFE AND I MADE MASHED SWEET POTATOES FOR A SIDE ..THEY WERE GREAT TOGETHER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I've been making these for a while and find that you have to play around with this recipe in order to make it to your taste. For one thing, scoop out as much of the zucchini as you can... ok, it's not wasting if you have a TON of big zucchini's to use up! Then bake and season the "boats" first for -- ummmm, maybe half hour or more in order to get it cooked and dried out a little, as it tends to be watery if you don't. Cook the beef/pork in your frying pan ahead of time and add the things you'd like--green pepper, onion, garlic, seasonings, tomatoes or tomato sauce, etc. and taste it first so it's more to your taste. When you stuff it, leave the cheese off until the last 10 or 15 minutes so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I used ths stuffing with bell peppers and it was just as or even more tasty! My wife's only complaint - a bell pepper full of meatloaf was just too much meat! Don't think I'll hear that complaint from most men!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I know we are deviating here from original recipe, but I prefer a zucchini boat featuring sauteed ground sausage - regular or hot. I nuke zucchini halfs to partially cook and make scooping out pulp easier. I hollow out zucchinis. Mix chopped zucchini pulp w/ sauteed onions and mushrooms. Add salt, pepper, parmesan cheese to taste. Then top the boats with sausage then zucchini mixture. Add chopped tomatoes and mozzarella. Bake for about 30-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this according to instructions and although edible and enjoyable I will continue to follow my own recipe for stuffed gourds. After preparing the zucchini I rub the inside with a mixture of Kosher salt and olive oil and leave for several hours, then I rinse under cold running water and dry in a low oven for about 10 to 15 minutes. I use half Beef and half Veal in the filling and use oregano to season. I prefer shallots and add caperberries and chopped green olives. I then mash one whole anchovie into the Tomato Sauce. Bake on the Middle shelf of a 375F preheated oven for 30 minuts. Pair with a good Chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States