Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Just a whole lot of things off kilter for our liking. Why would you got to all that trouble and then used jar sauce? Homemade sauce is far better and darn near as fast to assemble. Plus you could reduce the sodium making your own sauce. I'll post my recipe later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Except I add Celery ,Green Peppers and no bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Didn't have even close to the amount of oregano and still turned out great. did 1/3 of the recipe and added a splash of milk for moisture. Definitely only needed about 20-25 min cooking time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Fabulous, although I added some eggs to keep the meatballs together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Yes, I tried it. The cooking time is way too long. An hour on the meatballs in a 350 degree oven would bake them to a crisp. I tried 25 minutes and they were too done. Also, it needs moisture. Very dry and cooking four hours in the sauce is not even a little bit wise. Whole thing was not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Excellent this will be in our family for a long time thank-you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I honestly have no idea why anyone would like this recipe. 1st of all, 3 lbs of meatballs is ridiculous. I paired it down to 1 lb, and reduced all the other ingredients accordingly. I cooked them for 45 minutes (1 hour would have made them really dry), and only cooked them in the spaghetti sauce for about 15 minutes, because again, 1 hour is just too long... they would have fallen apart. When they were done, the meatballs were way too herby, and the onion soup mix didn't really go with the Italian seasonings. Very mediocre recipe, and would have been awful if I'd have followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Delicious! I added two eggs so that the meatballs would stick together better. The amount of seasoning is perfect. I did not make as a spaghetti but used the meatballs by themselves in calzones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I used this recipie for our Super Bowl party in Febuary I made meatball subs with them they were excellent I used more garlic than the recipie called for and used a 1 1/2 ounce scoop to have bigger balls for the subs. Instead of simmering on the stove I placed the sauce after bring to a boil and meatballs in a crockpot on low setting for the 4 hours then switched to warm they stayed wonderful and warm and available to my guests for the entire game I frooze some of the meatballs that did not fit in the crock pot and just used them last week with spaghetti they were still wonderful after being frozen for 2 months. I will definately use this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hicksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Followed recipe, except for oregeno/parsley, used dried Italian Seasoning. Bread crumbs did seem to be a lot, and took quite a bit of kneading to blend. Meatballs were done in 28 min. Took out and added 1/2 of the meatballs to sauce already simmering. Very good recipe. So much easier than standing over a stove and cooking. Froze leftover meatballs for an even easier dinner next time. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States