Italian Meat Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I used my own homemade garlic-butter croutons that I ran through the food processor to make bread crumbs especially for this meat loaf. I didn't have two full pounds of pork but I did have one pound of pork and one of extra lean ground beef, which I used in this recipe. We've had meat loaf with ketchup baked on top before and it's not a favorite of ours, so I made a topping for this meat loaf out of the 1/4 cup ketchup and added 2 tablespoons dijon mustard, 2 tablespoons brown sugar and a dash of worchestershire sauce. I formed this into one big loaf, using my Perfect Meat Loaf Pan. One big loaf took an hour and a half to bake at 350*. NO leftovers, the boys ate the whole thing aside from the small piece I had--nothing even for meat loaf sandwiches the next day! Next time I make this, I'll increase the italian seasoning. With mashed potatoes and garlic green beans, it was a filling and comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was the meatloaf my mom always made, although she used beef and cornflake crumbs. I will have to try with pork or maybe half and half! I loved it as a kid and never understood why everyone always hated meatloaf! I have also used quick cooking oats that I rolled into crumbs with a rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made these with pork, and they were absolutely delish. I did add more Parmesan than was called for, and I have to admit that my husband took the leftovers to work to heat up, and... not so great. But the night we had them they were hearty, healthy, and such great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Yummy! Easy and delicious. My entire family, even the picky eaters love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Made this with ground turkey instead and it was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I followed this recipe just as described and it turned out wonderful. The whole family scarfed it down, including my ultra-picky 2-year old. I used a ketchup-brown sugar sauce to go over it, just cause that's how my family enjoys it. Thanks for the great recipe, we'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaltyJenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
these were ok. i made them in muffin tins as suggested by a previous user. i would add more seasoning next time. i will continue to make meat loaf in a muffin tin though! it makes life easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Winner Winner Meat Loaf dinner!!!! Every once in a blue moon I will prepare meatloaf for my husband. I can't stand the stuff and never have and thought I never would. I loved this recipe as did my husband (who is the pickiest). Maybe once a year I can prepare a meal that my husband says is great. He couldn't get enough of this one! I made it with 1 pound ground beef and one pound pork sausage. I split it into two loaf pans, baked one and froze the other for another special day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I really liked these. They were easy to make and had a good flavor. I served them with the I didn't change a thing. Kids loved them! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States