Italian Meat and Spinach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and this was a hit! Fantastic blend of flavors and very moist, loved the combination of pie crust, spinach and meat. I doubled the recipe and used 2 pie crusts in a 9x13 glass dish. Served to 6 adults at a casual weekend dinner and not a morsel was left over. I will definately add this to my regular rotation. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I originally submitted this recipe using ground turkey and turkey sausage. Brown in 1 T olive oil, with 1 T garlic, basil and oregano, you really have to season the meat while cooking. Also, I do not use any salt in my recipe, I don't feel it's needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Loved, Loved, Loved this!!! Definately skip the salt, you won't miss it. Also, I added more veggies, zucchini, carrotts. I doubled the tomatoe sauce and doubled the recipe and doubled the seasonings. Absolutely 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious! (so say husband, kids, and adult friend) I doubled the recipe. No mushrooms or olives (I'm the only one who likes them) and no peppers (I hate them) but substituted zucchini in with the meat and tomato sauce. Pretty much followed everything else. It was good--but I'll probably stick with regular lasagna. Fun to make a change though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
We loved this hearty recipe. It reminded us of a meatlovers deep dish pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
The blend of flavors is wonderful. I made my own crust so I'm not sure it is worth all that effort, but it is good. I absolutely will use this combination of meat,sauce, cheese and spinach the next time I make calzones. Thank you Office Prisoner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Sorry, but I thought this was VERY bland. And a lot of work to go through for this pie. Made it exactly (except for mushrooms)the way it was written. I could not fit all the spinach mixture nor all the beef mixture in the pie either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Love this pie. The recipe is use for something like this does not go soggy (I use the same for quiche) so do not have to bake blind. It is called pate brisse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Easy, fast and healthy dinner. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivka-slivka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Delicious!This pie has a fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States