Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! Not too sweet, which is a big part of a successful dessert to me. Used devils food cake, no changes to recipe. But I will say I was smelling burning of the cake. It bakes quite a long time, which concerned me. When I checked on it when I smelled burning, it was quite done on the sides but middle not even close. Closed oven and said a prayer. Worked out fine. Cooled and the placed in fridge. Next day, made up "frosting" put on cake and shaved chocolate curls on. Looked pretty. Brought to a friends for dinner. They all LOVED IT! I highly recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
talk about dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is one cake with a whole lot of love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I have yet to find someone who didn't rave about this cake. Even those that "aren't cake people" love it! (Seriously, who isn't a "cake person" though...) I use the "extreme chocolate cake recipe" (which yields a very thin batter, so it switches layers very well). I recommend using part skim ricotta, it has a more mild flavor. Please don't use cool whip... just whip your own whipping cream, and add dry pudding powder! Way easier and makes a more firm topping. Then you can make it into a beautiful layer cake! I made an enormous cross cake for my son's baptism, chocolate pudding mix for the inside between layers and frosted the outside using vanilla pudding, so it was white - beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Simply to die for.. Favorite cake recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My friend's mother used to make this cake and I always wanted the recipe. Who knew it was so simple? The cake came out well. I did take it from the oven after 55 min and all was well. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this for a birthday at work. I followed the suggestions and made it the day before, and frosted it before going to work. Everyone LOVED it. I also exchanged the coffee for the water in the cake mix, as well as increased the sugar a little. It was perfect. This will be my go to cake again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this for a friends birthday....I never got to try it. I made it in a large springform pan.....took a long time to cook. Would cook it in 9 x 13 next time. The only comment my friend said about the cake was that she liked the icing and chocolate part...but thought the white part tasted funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I am a pretty decent baker, but this recipe did not work for me. The taste was good, but the cake never reversed itself. The ricotta mixture was pretty fluid with 4 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this cake for an italian homemade dinner for my in-laws yesterday. They loved it! Some helpful hints: - Use Duncan Hines Chocolate Fudge Cake mix (15 oz box) (Betty Crocker mixes have pudding mixed in and some ppl said their ricotta mixture didn't switch to the middle like it should and this could be the reason. It's sooo rich! - I increased the sugar in the ricotta mixture to 1 cup. You can even make half the ricotta mixture as 2 lbs. ricotta is a bit much. - It was done in 50 mins and I baked it in a dark metal pan. Definitely making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States