Italian Leafy Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have made this salad about 10 times in the past two months, including for several holiday dinners, each time to rave reviews. I use any kind of mixed, not bitter, greens. I make half the dressing and it is always enough. Make sure you add a good amount of salt and pepper. The most important change is to add toasted pine nuts, as recommended by others. It really makes the salad. Finally, this is one of those dressings that really needs to be dressed a few minutes before serving so the salad can absorb the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Used my own dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was delicious. I made the salad dressing the day before and it had a great flavor. All the different types of lettuce make a visually appealing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Tasty salad...I bought a package of mixed salad greens that included radichio, and used 5 cups of that. I also only used 3 tbsp of grapeseed oil and 3 tbsp of balsamic vinegar for the dressing, and the flavor was good. And this is a big salad, so if you're only feeding 2 or 3 people, just leave the dressing on the side, peeps can add their own to taste. The dressing was tasty, not what I had expected. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
this was good but you don't need to use all the dressing on it - too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This wonderful salad produced rave reviews for me on two occasions. I was not able to come up with the exact proportions of the leafy green mixture, but it didn't matter. I took the liberty of adding some toasted pine nuts and feta cheese just before serving, and it was a good touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great recipe! I served this for a dinner party and it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Really good salad. I added feta cheese onto. It was wonderful. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was okay. I've definitely had better. Although I had to use olive oil instead of the grapeseed oil because I couldn't find it. So maybe that's the difference in why I thought it was just OK and and everyone else loves it. The dressing tasted great with the tomatoes, but the overall salad just was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was good and I enjoyed the dressing too. It has a strong baslamic vinigar flavor so if you don't love that flavor, maybe cut back a bit on that. I did add some thinly sliced red onion and black olives to the salad and topped it with roasted almond slices and a sprinkle of cheese... It was very tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States