Italian Leafy Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Delicious and beautiful salad. I did take a shortcut and used packaged mixed salad greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnbkwrm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
The proportions of the veggies in this are perfect. I made this for Thanksgiving, but cheated with a bottled balsamic vinaigrette. I lined the sides of the glass bowl with some of the green/red peper rings, and put more on top as a garnish. Normally in our group of friends, people take some salad but don't eat much because they're focused on traditional Thanksgiving side dishes. This year, everyone ate what they took and several had seconds. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was a great salad! I purchased grapeseed oil and used prewashed Italian mix lettuce. My favorite parts were the green onions and the dressing, I will make this again and possibly experiment with the salad ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zashachic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I often cook for a diabetic, so I am on the lookout for interesting recipes for her. There are very few recipes for grapeseed oil on this site and I have some I've been meaning to use, so I tried this recipe. I feel like the submitter got a little lazy after a few expensive ingredients and barely improvised the rest. Fresh basil and balsamic are always a winning combo, but this is far from the best dressing I've tried using both. Aside from those 2, the most interesting things going on in my salad were the radishes and parmesan I added on my own. Sorry and thanks, I'll keep packing my grapeseed oil around. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I purchased the very expensive grapeseed oil recommended by this recipe. Couldn't tell that it was any different from olive oil. Just OK- nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I used the grapeseed oil, but I think this would be good with extra virgin olive oil also. Next time I will try the toasted pine nuts as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have made this salad about 10 times in the past two months, including for several holiday dinners, each time to rave reviews. I use any kind of mixed, not bitter, greens. I make half the dressing and it is always enough. Make sure you add a good amount of salt and pepper. The most important change is to add toasted pine nuts, as recommended by others. It really makes the salad. Finally, this is one of those dressings that really needs to be dressed a few minutes before serving so the salad can absorb the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Used my own dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was delicious. I made the salad dressing the day before and it had a great flavor. All the different types of lettuce make a visually appealing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Tasty salad...I bought a package of mixed salad greens that included radichio, and used 5 cups of that. I also only used 3 tbsp of grapeseed oil and 3 tbsp of balsamic vinegar for the dressing, and the flavor was good. And this is a big salad, so if you're only feeding 2 or 3 people, just leave the dressing on the side, peeps can add their own to taste. The dressing was tasty, not what I had expected. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States