Italian Leafy Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Great salad-I couldn't find grapeseed oil, so I used olive oil instead and it worked just fine-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very good salad. I just used bagged spring medley lettuce and cut the peppers into strips instead of rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This salad is fantastic and received rave reviews by recent dinner guests! I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added toasted pine nuts and crumbled feta cheese before serving, which almost makes it more of a Greek salad, and it was excellent. Definitely a keeper, and one I plan to make frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
My guests at a recent dinner party loved this salad. The bowl was completely empty! I could not find every type of lettuce, so just increased the quantity of what I could find. I believe the grapeseed oil has a milder flavor than olive oil, contributing to the success of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Excellent Salad. Used it during Thanksgiving. Added roasted pinenuts, Feta cheese,and drained maderine oranges to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was an excellent salad. Will definitely make again. I couldn't find grapeseed oil so I used olive oil. I also couldn't find escarole so I used an extra 1/2 cup each of radicchio and red leaf lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. Even after adjusting the oil/vinegar ratio to a more pleasant 3:1 oil to vinegar, this was acrid, flat and tasted of little else than the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This has become one of our favourites. I really enjoy the blend of lettuces and I often serve this salad with Italian meals. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This salad is AWESOME! We always have it w/ grilled chicken, it is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
Despite my inability to locate the grapeseed oil, it was delicious! I recommend this to anyone looking for something quick and elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States