Italian Leafy Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I often cook for a diabetic, so I am on the lookout for interesting recipes for her. There are very few recipes for grapeseed oil on this site and I have some I've been meaning to use, so I tried this recipe. I feel like the submitter got a little lazy after a few expensive ingredients and barely improvised the rest. Fresh basil and balsamic are always a winning combo, but this is far from the best dressing I've tried using both. Aside from those 2, the most interesting things going on in my salad were the radishes and parmesan I added on my own. Sorry and thanks, I'll keep packing my grapeseed oil around. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I purchased the very expensive grapeseed oil recommended by this recipe. Couldn't tell that it was any different from olive oil. Just OK- nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I used the grapeseed oil, but I think this would be good with extra virgin olive oil also. Next time I will try the toasted pine nuts as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have made this salad about 10 times in the past two months, including for several holiday dinners, each time to rave reviews. I use any kind of mixed, not bitter, greens. I make half the dressing and it is always enough. Make sure you add a good amount of salt and pepper. The most important change is to add toasted pine nuts, as recommended by others. It really makes the salad. Finally, this is one of those dressings that really needs to be dressed a few minutes before serving so the salad can absorb the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Used my own dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was delicious. I made the salad dressing the day before and it had a great flavor. All the different types of lettuce make a visually appealing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Tasty salad...I bought a package of mixed salad greens that included radichio, and used 5 cups of that. I also only used 3 tbsp of grapeseed oil and 3 tbsp of balsamic vinegar for the dressing, and the flavor was good. And this is a big salad, so if you're only feeding 2 or 3 people, just leave the dressing on the side, peeps can add their own to taste. The dressing was tasty, not what I had expected. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
this was good but you don't need to use all the dressing on it - too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This wonderful salad produced rave reviews for me on two occasions. I was not able to come up with the exact proportions of the leafy green mixture, but it didn't matter. I took the liberty of adding some toasted pine nuts and feta cheese just before serving, and it was a good touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great recipe! I served this for a dinner party and it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States