Italian Leafy Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Way too acidic, the proportion of oil to vinegar/lemon is off. I needed to add a lot of lettuce and some more oil to try to save it with very limited success. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Grape seed oil is another name for canola oil. It can be found near all the cooking oils. I think olive oil is the best oil to use for anything actually; in spite of touted health benefits of canola I use light olive for cooking and XV olive oil for salads and Italian recipes. As for this salad, it's pretty basic and needs feta or roasted sunflower seeds, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday and it was an excellent accompaniment for a "surf & turf" barbecue. The dressing is superb. I followed the recipe and didn't change a thing. Everybody loved it. This will be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Fresh and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved the dressing. Will be making it again and again. One has to really like basil and balsamic vinegar, otherwise one may not like it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I bought and italian mix in the grocery store and added boston lettuce as the greens. Huge hit at the dinner table. This dressing is amazing and the peppers worked really well with everything. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Great salad! I added a few ingredients though. I added chopped fennel, fresh mozzarella balls, pine nuts, and freshly grated parmesan cheese to the salad. I also added minced garlic and parmesan cheese to the dressing. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was pretty good. I added garlic. Next time I will cut the oil and lemon juice in half and double the amount of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Super easy, beautiful served in a large flat bowl and delicious. Nice light complement to a pasta dinner! Will serve frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. Even after adjusting the oil/vinegar ratio to a more pleasant 3:1 oil to vinegar, this was acrid, flat and tasted of little else than the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States