Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Whoa!!! This is excellent!!! And, can you say HEALTHY??? Superb recipe. Only change I made was to use 4 cloves of garlic (what can I say - I'm a garlic freak.) I've also used a similar method with swiss chard and spinach, but never tried it with balsamic vinegar. That adds a real tasty touch! Note that the recipe says to cook the kale until half of the volume is reduced. Don't over cook it - it's healthier that way!! You don't want it to end up like a wet rag. There should still be a hint of crispness to the leaves. Also, toss the kale a few times and it won't burn. The water on the leaves from washing should be enough. Simple, tasty and good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was a super recipe! If you are a novice at cooking kale, like I was a while ago, you need to strip the leaves off the stems and also chop the leaves a bit before cooking. You should add a small amount of water when cooking the kale and watch carefully so it doesn't boil away and burn. This recipe is very easy and has a really nice flavor. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very nice kale preparation. Tastes very Southern, even though its Italian. Be advised it takes at least 20 minutes to wash and de-spine and chop the kale. Also, it helps to have half of the olive oil in the pan when you're cooking the kale, to help it from sticking. Also, add 1/2 cup of water and cover the pan- this will ensure that the kale doesn't burn. The water will evaporate off at the end, leaving nicely sauteed kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
In the past, I steamed my kale (chard, spinach, etc.), then transfered it to a frying pan with garlic butter, and then dressed it on the plate with balsamic vinaigrette . . . so imagine how happy I was to see this simplified version of a side-dish I enjoy so much (albeit sheepish about not having figured out the "one pan" method for myself. Seems so obvious now!) Anyway, this tastes wonderful: fresh greens are so easy and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
NEEDS 1/2 CUP LIQUID. This is a good way to cook any greens: kale, spinach, chard, collards. Saute the garlic in olive oil, add the greens -with some liquid, like water, veggie or chicken broth, cook it down, add a little salt. Your done. The vinegar is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I made this recipe as listed and it was very good. Next time, I plan to cut the amount of balsamic vinegar in half. There was too much and it overpowered the taste of the vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCBRID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Our neighbor gave us a bunch of fresh kale from her garden. I didn't know how to prepare it, so gave this recipe a try. I've made spinach this way, and the kale tasted just as good with the EVOO, garlic, & balsamic. Felt like we were doing something very healthy for ourselves with dinner tonight! Thanks, Dwieberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I loved this, although i did it a bit differently. I doubled the recipe, then ran out of balsamic vinegar after one tablespoon. So i did one of dijon mustard, one of regular vinegar and 2/3 of a tablespoon of sugar. It was awesome, especially for my first time cooking kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'm sure it would have been much tastier if I didn't burn it. Smelled lovely in the pot. I think it just needed some more water... make sure you keep enough water while steaming the kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Fantastic!!!! I love Kale and this is another great way to add it to the rotation!! I added some navy beans while the Kale was cooking down to make it a main meal. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States