Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! Very simple & full of flavor! I have Kale coming out of my ears right now (over-planted, oops!) & as long as you use GOOD QUALITY balsamic (I use Olivier from Wiiliams-Sonoma) it compliments rather than over-powers. I do add a couple of Tablespoons of water when wilting (or reducing) the kale. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used this recipe to eat Kale for the first time and this is a great way to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was ok. It was a little too much vinegar for me. Other than that I did like it enough to eat some left over the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
We did not care for this recipe. I did not have balsamic though - I used red wine vinegar - so maybe that is my fault. It was just bitter and not very yummy. My husband wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I FINALLY found a kale recipe that is yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
My husband and I both thought that there was WAY too much vinegar in this recipe. We couldn't taste anything else and it was too powerful to eat. :( Also, we followed the advice of another reviewer and added 1/2c. water while the kale was cooking covered. This worked marvelously, but I would recommend draining the water before adding the remaining ingredients. If you cook it long enough to evaporate the water, it will be too well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I make kale like this all the time, except I use more garlic since we like it. Sometimes I add a few sprinkles of crushed red chili pepper flakes for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious! If I'd known how easy it was to make great tasting kale I'd have been doing it for years. I did add a bit of water (1/4 cup or so) to help prevent it from sticking, and that worked well for me. Will make this again and again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Really easy and healthy. I added more garlic and a can of diced Italian tomatoes to the kale after it had been reduced to half. Also, if you don't us any liquid the kale will cook down really fast and get burned. I used a cup of chicken broth poured over the kale in the beginning. Otherwise, really good, my husband loved this and he's not a huge kale fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilCoug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
great! add extra garlic, add to oil and cook until golden. use a shade less balsamic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States