Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Whoa!!! This is excellent!!! And, can you say HEALTHY??? Superb recipe. Only change I made was to use 4 cloves of garlic (what can I say - I'm a garlic freak.) I've also used a similar method with swiss chard and spinach, but never tried it with balsamic vinegar. That adds a real tasty touch! Note that the recipe says to cook the kale until half of the volume is reduced. Don't over cook it - it's healthier that way!! You don't want it to end up like a wet rag. There should still be a hint of crispness to the leaves. Also, toss the kale a few times and it won't burn. The water on the leaves from washing should be enough. Simple, tasty and good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was a super recipe! If you are a novice at cooking kale, like I was a while ago, you need to strip the leaves off the stems and also chop the leaves a bit before cooking. You should add a small amount of water when cooking the kale and watch carefully so it doesn't boil away and burn. This recipe is very easy and has a really nice flavor. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very nice kale preparation. Tastes very Southern, even though its Italian. Be advised it takes at least 20 minutes to wash and de-spine and chop the kale. Also, it helps to have half of the olive oil in the pan when you're cooking the kale, to help it from sticking. Also, add 1/2 cup of water and cover the pan- this will ensure that the kale doesn't burn. The water will evaporate off at the end, leaving nicely sauteed kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
In the past, I steamed my kale (chard, spinach, etc.), then transfered it to a frying pan with garlic butter, and then dressed it on the plate with balsamic vinaigrette . . . so imagine how happy I was to see this simplified version of a side-dish I enjoy so much (albeit sheepish about not having figured out the "one pan" method for myself. Seems so obvious now!) Anyway, this tastes wonderful: fresh greens are so easy and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
NEEDS 1/2 CUP LIQUID. This is a good way to cook any greens: kale, spinach, chard, collards. Saute the garlic in olive oil, add the greens -with some liquid, like water, veggie or chicken broth, cook it down, add a little salt. Your done. The vinegar is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I made this recipe as listed and it was very good. Next time, I plan to cut the amount of balsamic vinegar in half. There was too much and it overpowered the taste of the vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCBRID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Our neighbor gave us a bunch of fresh kale from her garden. I didn't know how to prepare it, so gave this recipe a try. I've made spinach this way, and the kale tasted just as good with the EVOO, garlic, & balsamic. Felt like we were doing something very healthy for ourselves with dinner tonight! Thanks, Dwieberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I loved this, although i did it a bit differently. I doubled the recipe, then ran out of balsamic vinegar after one tablespoon. So i did one of dijon mustard, one of regular vinegar and 2/3 of a tablespoon of sugar. It was awesome, especially for my first time cooking kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'm sure it would have been much tastier if I didn't burn it. Smelled lovely in the pot. I think it just needed some more water... make sure you keep enough water while steaming the kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Fantastic!!!! I love Kale and this is another great way to add it to the rotation!! I added some navy beans while the Kale was cooking down to make it a main meal. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States