Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sir_Angus
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Ok ... It got better after setting over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
In my opinion, as the recipe is written, the kale is undercooked. It may be a matter of personal preference as well that I didn't care for the vinegar. I prefer to use fresh lemon juice instead because any kind of vinegar on cooked greens seems to be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I add a packet of Swanson's Chickne flavor boost and some slivered almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Fast, easy and very good. I used more garlic and a pomegranate infused balsamic. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Greens are best made very simply and this recipe fit the bill. I did put a small amount of water in the pan and cooked covered until the kale had reduced. I drained the water, added everything else and cooked for another 2 minutes or so. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Delicious and super easy! Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very good. I like the flavor, unfortunately due to the oil and the fact that you cook away a lot of the nutrients in the Kale it doesn't seem like a very healthy choice. I may try to use less oil next time... we will have to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I was skeptical about the vinegar in this recipe, but it was actually really tasty and helped offset the bitterness of the kale. The only change i made was a couple pinches of cayenne pepper flakes because the smell reminded me of chicken wings with hot sauce. The little extra kick blended in nicely without being overpowering. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Just don't like Kale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbarnold22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I've never made Kale, so this was a first try for me. I have to say, I really liked it! Not sure if my family felt the same way, but I think if I doctor it up with a little more flavor, they may come around to liking it. I ate kale quite often as a child, and I'm pretty sure my grandma used a LOT more garlic, and probably a dash of sugar, so I'm going to try that next time. (Coming from a family that is 100% Sicilian, I'm pretty sure my grandma put sugar in EVERYTHING!) :) I served my kale as a side dish with Pesto Cream Sauce Linguini, also found on this site. It was a nice combo! I will definitely be making both dishes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States