Italian Hot Turkey Sausage and Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this tonight for a special meal for my husband. The flavoring was very good, but I was surprised at just how much pasta was in this dish. I might try customizing it with more sausage and celery, but overall it was very warm, very spicy and an excellent blend. Very filling. I used regular hot sausage. The seasoning was perfect. I made garlic bread to go with it, which fit nicely. Thanks for the holiday submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was really good! The only thing I changed was adding a small can of tomato sauce to the broth, because I knew my husband wouldn't like the tomato chunks, and then a little bit of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Really delicious with a 6 oz can of tomato paste & mild sausage! I used about half the pasta recommended & the dish turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe for something fast, healthy, tasty, and inexpensive. It was very tasty, though not AMAZING, if you know what I mean. I will certainly be making it again, though. I added some kale I had so as to have a green vegetable in the meal, and it went well. Be sure you have a big enough skillet! This recipe really does have 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a really good recipe. I did not give it five stars because that rating should be saved for a knock your socks off dish. It had good flavor and I liked the components of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good! I used regular Hot Italian Sausage which spiced it up a bit. Good way to get those New year's Black Eyed Peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairmanmeow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe was pretty good but I know why it calls for low sodium broth. Too salty... Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS! I substituted hot Italian venison sausage for the turkey sausage, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. It was fantastic and the leftovers were even better! Disregard the other reviews that say it is just okay and give it a try; you won't be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I changed some ingredients to this recipe due to leftovers that were in the fridge. Instead of pasta, I used white rice. Also, I used the standard Italian seasoning instead of oregano. I bought frozen peas and cooked them with the onions and some minced garlic. Just before the peas were done, I sauteed Kielbasa sausage instead of the hot sausage, with the diced tomatoes and more seasoning. I did not buy the low sodium chicken broth but it was not too salty. In fact, I used more minced garlic in the sausage mixture. When all this was done, I mixed it all together in a large pot. My husband (he doesn't like the peas) and I enjoyed this meal a lot. Even my husband liked it! It was something different for the traditional black eyed peas meal and left some for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tngadgetlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States