Italian Herb Infused Olive Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have used this oil every holiday for several years now. It is the secret to my moist, deliciously seasoned, Thanksgiving turkey! Thank you so much for sharing this amazing seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaffair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
A simple recipe, but caution, because the instructions are only good if you are going to use this oil in the 2 days it specifies, otherwise use dried herbs only and a sterilized bottle. The fresh herbs need to be dried with any infusion recipe, or you need to cook the herbs in the oil. I prefer dried, because the dried herbs soak up the oil much faster, and the oils from the herbs blend easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
It was Great. I added 3 cloves of fresh garlic and a sprinkling of freshly ground black Pepper. I sauteed the oil with fresh vegetables and grilled it. It was wonderful. Had all fresh ingredients but used dried Oregano. Didn't have fresh. It lasted for weeks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
really yummy with bread, and great for hot oil fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
So great! I used fresh basil and rosemary, but used thyme and oregano from a regular spice jar. I am liberal with my herbs and added more than the recipe asked for...drizzled it over a salad with tons of fresh veggies. The flavor combination of these herbs is as good as any salad dressing, and much healthier. Will defiantly make this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Had this with warm pita bread, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamachef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Great fresh taste and I will definately make this again. Also, I wanted to comment on why this should be consumed quickly. Oil by itself cannot grow bacteria, but herbs containing water can. Botulinum organisms can grow in food sources containing even trace amounts of water and cause botulism - a serious form of food poisoning. For this reason, blending and storing infused dipping oils without refrigeration is not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I wanted some dipping oil for bread I was making now. So I used all dried herbs and let them soak in the oil in a covered bowl for two hours and it was pretty tasty. Nice for a small ammount and a hurry and the herbs started to swell up from soaking making it look more like fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Beautiful to look at and wonderful to dip hot bread into. I am going to make this for gifts. Bought some bottles at Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
FANTASTIC flavor! I made this for Christmas gifts with "Jo's Rosemary bread" in the bread machine. All the flavors melded so great! I read up on oil infusion and chose to do a heat infusion. The risk of food poisioning goes down if you heat the herbs. Something about the fresh herbs having water content that causes botchilism. That's why you should use it quickly. The heating makes it last a bit longer but still in the fridge. I bought oil bottles with spouts and sealing wax and dipped them in red wax to seal them for gifts. They were pretty with the red wax, jingle bell, red raffia ribbon and sprig of rosemary inside the bottle with the oil. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-NET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States