Italian Herb Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Nice bread when olive oil is swapped for the margarine called for. Because I have them available now in my garden, I chose to use a handful of chopped, fresh herbs to replace the dried - oregano, thyme, rosemary, basil, sage and parsley. I found this recipe to have unusual ingredient measurements and it might have been better to have published the recipe with measurements for standard 1, 1-1/2 or 2 pound loaves. As another reviewer suggested, I scaled the recipe to 17 servings to make my 1-1/2 pound loaf. The amount of salt called for then was 1-3/4 tsp., and I found it to be too much. The bread didn't rise as well as it should have, and the finished bread even tasted too salty. Next time I will cut back the salt to 1-1/2 tsp. for the recipe scaled to use 3 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good! I didn't have milk powder, so I just skipped it - I don't think it had any effect whatsoever. Instead of margarine I used olive oil and I added 1/2 tsp. garlic powder to the mix. I served this bread with olive oil with cracked pepper sprinkled on top to dip it in. Can't wait to use it as sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
The bread was good. I used milk instead of the water because I didn't have milk powder. It was a nice bread with butter with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Wonderfully soft and tasty! I scaled the recipe to 17 servings so I could use 3 cups bread flour. I then "rounded down" everything except the salt (e.g., 1 T & 1/2 t dry milk became 1 T...the salt I left at 1 t and used Kosher salt). I replaced the margarine with olive oil (2T.) and only needed 1 cup water. I baked the bread in the machine and oooohhhh it smelled so good, was so soft, and tasted just perfect! Tasty...tasty...tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is a family favorite. I go a little heavy on cheese and seasoning and find adding a bit of romano cheese adds something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have made 4 loaves already this week. It is a wonderful recipes just as it is. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Great bread recipe. Made on dough cycle in bread machine and baked in a circle in oven at 375 deg. Have made three loaves since I found this last week. One of my DH favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Very Nice!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
After several loaves of so-so breads, this is the first bread machine recipe that I found that I really liked. It is just moist enough, has a good flavor and is very easy. I follow the recipe exactly and make a loaf of this as a back up when making a new recipe to try out on friends. Of course, I do like anything with italian spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made this in the bread machine and used olive oil instead of margarine, and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States