Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by A Kristen McNew
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Very delicious! Only used 5 cups of flour and saved the last cup for working the dough and still had flour left over. I also used 2tbs of Italian seasoning and it turned out great. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Kristen McNew
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Good bread. Made changes that really didn't change the recipe just my preference. Less salt, sugar, and basil. Used asiago cheese instead of romano because I had that on hand. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I have made this several times now, usually to take with a soup when I make dinner for a family who needs some TLC. Everyone loves it. I make it in my 6-quart Kitchen Aid so incorporating all that flour is easy. The recipe is simple to halve, though. I have used various hard aged cheeses and it's always been yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent recipe! Strong suggestion? Knead the dough on "knead" or "dough" setting in a bread machine. After 30 minutes add flour or liquid to make dough not quite sticky to the finger touch. Stop machine and let rise once. Re-start machine and knead for another 30 minutes adjusting any stickyness. Remove from machine and shape, let rise, then bake. The consistency of your bread will be simply marvelous...knead knead knead your bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
For people who couldn't get their bread to rise, i would use fast rising yeast like i did. Also, my house is generally cold so i put the dough in the oven at 170 F for ten mins and turn it off and left it in there for an hour. The dough rose very nicely. This was my third try and it finally worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zarana Gandhi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This turned out wonderful. Very flavorful and aromatic - we had it with pasta and it was even better. Considering using it as a pizza crust next time. I had no problem with it cooking through and my hint is spray it with water when putting it in the oven then 1/2 way through and again 1 minute before you take it out. Gives it a golden crust and all it takes is a spray bottle and water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Cochran Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This makes excellent toasting bread! It was a little spongy when it came out of the oven but once it cooled down it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a basic Italian bread recipe with the addition of the herbs. The recipe I've been using for years is the same except mine takes 2 Tbsp more oil & only 1 Tbsp yeast since it multiplies quickly. You can change up the herbs, add parmesan or sun dried tomato, cracked wheat &/or wheat germ.....whatever strikes your fancy. It makes wonderful soft bread sticks too. They're marvelous with a steaming bowl of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This bread was simply delicious and easy to make even if you have never made bread from scratch. My guests raved. The bread is tender and light with just the right amount of robust herb flavor. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have made this bread for many and it is always a huge hit. I substituted thyme or just Italian seasoning for the oregano several times. I half it mix it in the bread machine and then bake it in the oven on a baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States