Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good bread! I didn't have any oregano, so instead of adding that and the basil, I substituted 2 T of Mrs. Dash's Tomato Basil Garlic blend, with the onion and garlic powder. I also used a Romano/Parmesan cheese blend. The loaves were soft and fluffy, with a nice soft crust. Loved it and will try it again as a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingWithLuv
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I enjoyed the bread--It wasn't the very best I've tried but it was very good sliced, toasted with butter and cheese. You don't have to add any seasonings to the butter and cheese since they are already in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingWithLuv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
yummy! used as a pizza crust- delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Absolutely delicious and a hit with all who have eaten it here. My only suggestion is to keep some water beside you as you knead the dough... for me, it needed just a tablespoon or so more to make it the right consistency. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Shaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Very good, refreshing bread: a few little notes, if its not cooking all the way through, like it did with me the first time I tried this a year ago... check your yeast - yes even it goes bad. Then, I also thought it needed a bolder flavor for an "italian herb bread" - so to get that add your herbs (preferably fresh and minced) with the Yeast/Sugar/water mixture and let set with the yeast until it is activated. (I used fresh oregano, rosemary, and basil from my garden, as well as a few chopped up garlic cloves). Then, to accentuate it even further, expirament with the salt levels - I thought it needed more - but this is coming from a garlic salt fanatic - which i applied generously and mixed it with the 6 cups flour before adding it. anywho, great bread. thanks christi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was delicious with a great texture. Be sure to use fresh yeast for best results. Next time I will add some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I wasn't crazy about this bread. I thought the cheese flavor was overwhelming. The bread itself wasn't very good, but the croutons I made from it were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I CAN make bread. I also halved the recipe but used the same amount of herbs, wonderful. I made 12 bread rolls and 1 small round loaf. Now if I can stop eating it there will be some for tonight! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great recipe. I divided recipe in 1/2 and only had to use about 2 1/4 cups of flour. Smelled wonderful baking and hubby wants his next pizza made with this dough. Thanks for sharing Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was a big hit in our household. Itwas made as a pizza. I rolled out the dough and added chicken,onions and roast red peppers and mozzarella cheese as a topping. It was so good and sure beat the pizzeria down the block.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States