Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious! The first time I baked it exactly as the recipe dictated. However, this recipe is so easy to play with so the second time I used fresh herbs, added rosemary, and doubled the garlic powder (everyone loves garlic, right!?). With slightly less flour (5.5 cups) the bread was soft and supple, and I baked it for 30, not 35 minutes. Very, very good, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This recipe is excellent. I am making it for the third time right now. This time, I experimented a little and added a bit of sour dough starter to see how it blends with the other flavors. I've been using fresh herbs from my garden (Thyme, Oregano, Basil) and instead of onion powder I substituted chopped shallots. So far, we've devoured every loaf rather quickly. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
i ended up making little rolls out of this.. it took at least 15 min's longer in the oven.. i'm wondering if it's b/c my oven is that old.. it's a little more yeasty/sweet-ish than i prefer.. but i did enjoy it.. only deviation was i substituted parm for romano.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
You definitely don't need 6 cups of flour for this. 5 maximum, and it was still semi-stiff. I used fresh basil and oregano, and Reggiano. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Really yummy, aromatic bread... I followed the recipe exactly and the bread turned out great. Used for sandwich bread - family loved it. Original yield states two loaves but they are HUGE loaves. I would say this recipe makes four large loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This bread came out FANTASTIC!! It was light and airy, smelled sooooo good. I didn't have romano on hand so I used some fresh grated parmesean instead and it was great. It didn't seem to rise quite as fast as the directions indicated, so I let it go for an extra 30 mins (1 hour total) once I got it into the loaf pans and they did nicely. This is only my 2nd time making a yeast-based break and I am so impressed with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Made this as bread as is, and It was ok...a little bit to much spice...Made It again as pizza dough....and Wowser's...Excellent! made it with "exquisite pizza sauce" from AR....Oh Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A fantastic recipe! I made for the first time yesterday, and almost all of it is gone today. It had been a while since I made some bread, and this was real easy to do without using my bread machine. The seasonings worked well together and it wasn't dry at all. Towards the end of the bake time, I could smell the bread from the top of the stairs, which was very aromatic. Brushed to the top with olive oil before and after baking, which gave it a real nice brown color. I'm interested if using an egg wash will make the crust darker. The only thing I may do differently next time is use a Parmesan cheese blend and use little more cheese than what the recipe calls for. I may also make clover rolls out of them, since I made the bread for tomato soup. Perfect for dipping. In short I highly recommend this bread recipe, especially if you are looking to make bread that taste like the ones in Italian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious! I made this to serve with soup & it is one of the best breads I've ever made. I used my bread machine, so I halved the recipe & it turned out perfectly. Even my kids (who are picky eaters) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States