Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious! I made this to serve with soup & it is one of the best breads I've ever made. I used my bread machine, so I halved the recipe & it turned out perfectly. Even my kids (who are picky eaters) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used this recipe to make braided stuffed spaghetti. It was pretty good and worked really well. Next time I will probably use fresh garlic though. This will definitely be my go-to bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Excellent flavor. I added a Tablespoon or so (eyeballed it) of chopped black olive and a splash more olive oil as I was kneading it. Last 5-10 minutes, I brushed the tops with olive oil. Made excellent sandwiches with it. My teenager enjoyed slicing and eating a half loaf while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This bread was fantastic! It was a very easy recipe to prepare. I let it rise a second time before I put it out on the baking sheet and it was the perfect, light & fluffy bread. The herbs gave it the perfect taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
awesome bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was my first time making bread, and I will definitely use this recipe again! It was surprisingly simple and smelled delicious. I made this for a dinner party and got rave reviews from my friends. I did substitute Parmesean cheese for the Romano cheese (my grocery store is seriously lacking in the cheese department!), but the change seemed to work fine. I also baked it for about 10 extra minutes as it still looked a little doughy. I highly recommend this recipe, especially if you haven't baked bread often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I have been baking bread for a long time - this is a FANTASTIC recipe. The amount of salt concerned me, as well as the amount of spices, but the bread rose beautifully and baked up nice and soft. The only change I made was to substitute in one cup of wheat flour. Kneaded the dough in a KitchenAid mixer and shaped it as round loaves on a cookie sheet. Only thing that would be better about this bread would be if the crust was thick and crunchy, but I think there's a secret to that I haven't figured out yet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This bread is wonderful! Thank you so much, I've been looking for an herb bread like those served at nice Italian restaurants. The flavor is perfect. We are watching our salt intake, so I did 1/2 Tablespoon (instead of 1Tablespoon) salt, then 1/2 Tablespoon Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil Garlic blend, and I also cut each of the rest of the seasonings in half (the Mrs. Dash is full of seasonings). I also baked it without the cheese, then we mixed a Tablespoon of olive oil with ground black pepper and Parmesan cheese, and dipped the bread in it--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Great recipe! My only change was to use butter instead of olive oil, which I was out of(!). Then, because it was so good, I decided to make bread sticks from it, and they turned out really good, too. I divided the risen dough into thirds, rolled each third to about 1/3-1/2 inch thickness, cut into about one-inch wide sticks,let them rise second time for about 40 minutes, baked on parchment for 20 minutes at 375 degrees. I think it made about 40 sticks, but they were being eaten right out of the oven before I thought to count them. Big success! I'm going to make them again, for a pot luck, and will also take homemade dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States