Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
So yummy. Took the advice of another reviewer and cranked the oven to 425 to preheat, put the bread in, threw a cup of ice into the bottom of the oven and then lowered the temp. to 375. Turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Paltz, New York, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was only the second time I have ever baked bread. I cut the recipe in half and it turned out fairly well. I had to let the bread rise a little longer than the recipe called for but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe makes a delicious loaf of herb bread. It's odd that people refer to it as 'spicy'. It's an herbal aromatic bread, but not spicy. If you think it's heavy or dense, you can check if your oven runs too hot or cool with an inexpensive thermometer made to check oven temps. If you used wheat bread instead of white - it's going to be very dense. Follow the recipe exactly, bake it at the right temp, and it will turn out so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Made this in my new bread machine. Wasn't really all that impressed with the flavor. Nothing spectacular. Probably good with some spaghetti though, or dipped in some herb infused EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made my own bread for the first time with this recipe, thanks. Instead of bread flour, I just used all-purpose organic whole wheat flour. I only used 4 cups of flour, because it seemed to be the right consistency (at least from my experience with those pizza kits:)). And I used parmesan cheese instead. It actually turned out great, and am going to make this quite often. It was much denser than your normal $.79 loaf, but I liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for this recipe. Same as I have the other two I made in the last 34 hours. I used half wheat-half white in this recipe, which made it drier than your typical homemade bread. I had to add a couple more tablespoons of oil to get the bread to stick together enough to knead with the dough hook. I'm not really impressed with the way it turned out. I'd like to try it again with just white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I've baked quite a few breads and this one just wasn't quite right. It came out very dense, and a strange mixture between bland and spicy. One bite would be nothing but spice, the next completely bland. It was great when dipped into sauce (we ate it with spaghetti), but I couldn't eat it plain. All in all, some might like it but it definitely wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeceMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
a great bread for sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was an ok recipe. It calls for so much flour and oil, yet not enough herbs. The flavor was a bit bland and the bread got stale very fast, even inside a bread tupperware. I might use fresh garlic and onions next time, if I were to attempt a modified version of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Wow! This is the best bread I have ever made. It was perfect -- texture and flavor. It smelled awesome while rising/cooking. A fresh slice doesn't even need any butter. I did use well rounded spoonfuls of all the spices, but then again I always read herbs and spices as "to taste" whether a recipe says so or not. I plan to make this bread often. I'm making my own sandwich bread now and while the distinctive flavor won't work with every type of sandwich, when it does work it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States